Belfast Telegraph

Wednesday 14 October 2015

Monaghan four get Ulster slots

By John Campbell

Published 18/10/2007

Four Monaghan players have been included in the Ulster side for Saturday's Martin Donnelly inter-provincial football semi-final against Connacht - and that will certainly please manager Seamus McEnaney.

Eoin Lennon, Dick Clerkin, Paul Finlay and Tommy Freeman have all made Brian McEniff's line-up.

Even though a substantial number of candidates were out of his selection frame for a variety of reasons, McEniff has still managed to piece together a side that will fully test Connacht.

The full-back line of Barry Owens, Kevin McCloy and Karl Lacey looks particularly strong while Aaron Kernan, Conor Gormley and Kevin Cassidy bring style and steel at half-back with Down's Dan Gordon partnering Eoin Lennon in the engine-room

And while familiar names such as Paddy Bradley, Brian Dooher, Stephen O'Neill and Brendan Coulter are missing from the attack, the fact that Cavan's Ger Pierson and Derry's Enda Muldoon are there suggests that the Connacht defence will be kept on their toes.

Meanwhile, GAA President Nickey Brennan will meet Australian Football League chief Andrew Demetriou later today for talks aimed at resolving the impasse which currently surrounds the International Rules series.

The competition has been put on ice following the violence which has marred recent tests between Ireland and Australia.

Brennan is seeking assurances that the Aussies will adhere to the framework laid down governing sportsmanship if and when the Rules series is resumed." We are entering these discussions in good faith and we will see where they take us," maintains Brennan, "We will only resume the series if we feel that everything is properly in place."

ULSTER: J Reilly (Cavan); B Owens (Fermanagh), K McCloy (Derry), K Lacey (Donegal); A Kernan (Armagh), C Gormley (Tyrone, capt), K Cassidy (Donegal); E Lennon (Monaghan), D Gordon (Down); D Clerkin (Monaghan), S Cavanagh (Tyrone), P Finlay (Monaghan); T Freeman (Monaghan), G Pierson (Cavan), E Muldoon (Derry). Substitutes: P Durkan (Donegal), S Goan (Fernmanagh), C McKeever (Armagh), B Monaghan (Donegal), D Freeman (Monaghan), C Toye (Donegal), J Crozier (Antrim), C McFadden (Donegal), A Rodgers (Down).

From the web

Sponsored Videos

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph