Belfast Telegraph

Thursday 18 September 2014

St Pat's retain MacRory Cup

St Patrick's Dungannon 2-7 Omagh CBS 1-9

St.Pats Captain David Lavery lifts the McRory Cup
MacRory Cup Final between St.Patricks, Dungannon and Omagh CBS at Healy Park, Omagh
MacRory Cup Final between St.Patricks, Dungannon and Omagh CBS at Healy Park, Omagh. Omagh CBS Ryan Lynch and Brian McGarvey and St.Pats Peter Muldoon

Goals from Niall McKenna and Dermot Thornton helped Dungannon come back from seven points down to retain their MacRory Cup title in the first ever all-Tyrone final.

Peter Harte, Omagh's only survivor from the 2007 MacRory Cup triumph, blasted home a superb 12th minute goal, hitting the roof of Niall Morgan's net to cap a flowing move involving Brian McGarvey, Declan Connoly and Ronan O'Neill.

Wing-back Stephen McCrory, Harte and Hicks had already floated over points to establish CBS supremacy, with Dungannon failing to build on an early Kiefer Morgan point.

Omagh opened up a seven points lead, thanks to some superb points from Harte and Colm Hicks, but McKenna, who had been drifting between midfield and full forward, collected a long delivery from Dermot Thornton to finish superbly to the net, placing his shot inside the far post with immaculate precision.

After dominating the opening half-hour, Omagh went in at the break with a flimsy three points lead, 1-6 to 1-3.

Dungannon started the second half with purpose, and when McKenna was fouled by Stephen Mullan as he bore down on goal, Thornton drilled home the 39th minute penalty to give them the lead.

Ciaran Gervin's strong running was now causing immense problems for a hard-pressed Omagh defence and he floated over two scores to press home the advantage.

But Harte did convert a free to narrow the gap to just two points with four minutes to play, before Conan Grugan left just a point between the sides.

But time ran out for the2007 winners, and the reigning champions were crowned again

SCORERS - Dungannon: D Thornton 1-1 (1-0 pen), N Mckenna 1-0, K Morgan 0-3 (1f) C Gervin 0-2, L Gervin 0-1. Omagh: P Harte 1-4 (1f), R Lynch 0-2, C Grugan, C Hicks, S McCrory 0-1 each.

Dungannon: N Morgan, P Muldoon, B Kelly, J Grimley, S McGarrity, G Teague, D Toner, D Lavery, J Loughran, S Small, C Gervin, L Gervin, K Morgan, N McKenna, D Thornton. Sub: D Quinn for McGarrity

Omagh: R McAnenly, D Connolly, S Warnock, F McQuaid, S McCrory, A O'Donnell, S Mullan, C Grugan, S Harper, P Harte, R O'Neill, B McGarvey, J Donnelly, C Hicks, R Lynch. Subs: K McCullagh for Donnelly, T Canavan for Harper

Referee: J White (Donegal).

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Nightlife galleries


Latest Sport News

Stats Centre