Belfast Telegraph

Friday 30 January 2015

Tohill names Aussie Rules six

Ireland manager Anthony Tohill has named his 22-man squad for the International Rules series against Australia.

And he has included six players who have experience of playing Aussie Rules football - Tadhg Kennelly, Michael Shields, Martin Clarke, Brendan Murphy, Tommy Walsh and Colm Begley.

Steven McDonnell of Armagh will captain the Irish team for the two-Test series at Limerick on October 23 and Croke Park on October 30. Galway's Finian Hanley is vice-captain. Seven standby players have also been named.

Ireland squad: Steven McDonnell (Armagh, captain), Finian Hanley (Galway, vice-captain), Colm Begley (Laois), Bernard Brogan (Dublin), Graham Canty (Cork), Sean Cavanagh (Tyrone), Martin Clarke (Down), Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), Brendan Donaghy (Armagh), Leighton Glynn (Wicklow), Daniel Goulding (Cork), James Kavanagh (Kildare), Paddy Keenan (Louth), Tadhg Kennelly (Kerry), Sean McDermott (Roscommon), Ciaran McKeever (Armagh), Kevin McKernan (Down), Brendan Murphy (Carlow), Michael Murphy (Donegal), Kevin Reilly (Meath), Michael Shields (Cork), Tommy Walsh (Kerry)

Standby Players: Emmet Bolton (Kildare), Gary Brennan (Clare), Gary Connaughton (Westmeath), Benny Coulter (Down), Eamonn Fennell (Dublin), Johnny McCarthy (Limerick), Niall McNamee (Offaly).

Nightlife galleries


Latest Sport News

Stats Centre