Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home Sport GAA

Tyrone get 10 Allstar nominations

By Martin Breheny

Published 25/09/2008

Tyrone captain Brian Dooher is one of 10 Tyrone players that received an All star nomination
Tyrone captain Brian Dooher is one of 10 Tyrone players that received an All star nomination

A week which started in triumph for Tyrone footballers has received another major boost with the nomination of 10 of their All-Ireland-winning side for selection on the Vodafone Allstar team.

They top the list, one ahead of Kerry, on the 45-strong panel where 12 counties are represented.

The 10 Tyrone men are: Conor Gormley, Justin McMahon, Davy Harte, Philip Jordan, Ryan McMenamin, Enda McGinley, Sean Cavanagh, Brian Dooher, Colm McCullagh and Tommy McGuigan.

They have three representatives among the nine half-forward line contenders, including Sean Cavanagh, who is also a leading candidate for Player-of-the-Year award.

Although he played in the full-forward line for much of the season, he is also eligible in the half-forwards and is certain to pick up another award.

Kerry should be happy with their nine-strong representation which once again includes the three O’Shea brothers; Marc, Tomas and Darragh. The All-Ireland finalists fill 19 of the 45 positions, followed by four each for Wexford, Cork and Fermanagh.

Wexford and Fermanagh have more nominees than provincial champions Galway and Dublin who are on three each, while Armagh have just two representations, Francie Bellew and Ronan Clarke.

Wexford will be pleased with their highest ever number of nominees (Anthony Masterson, Redmond Barry, Matty Forde, Ciaran Lyng) while Fermanagh (Shane Goan, Tommy McElroy, Ryan McCloskey and Martin McGrath) have also done well.

Westmeath will also be happy with nominations for Gary Connaughton, John Keane and Michael Ennis which is a positive reflection of a season where the defence performed brilliantly. Galway, for whom Padraic Joyce returns after a lengthy absence, and Dublin, each have three representatives.

Cavan’s James Reilly, one of the most consistent goalkeepers over the last few years, will be challenging Connaughton and Anthony Masterson for the No 1 position, while Kildare’s John Doyle is recognised for being the top scorer in the championship. The degree to which the championship dictates the All Stars is underlined by Derry’s sole representative. Despite winning the National League (Div 1) title, midfielder Fergal Doherty is their sole nominee.

Ulster: 18; Munster: 13; Leinster: 11; Connacht: 3.

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph