Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Golf

Over 70 teams fight it out in Telegraph Foursomes

There is a bumper crop of entries for this year’s Belfast Telegraph Foursomes which is once again being held at Holywood.

Almost 70 teams will battle it out for the Jack Magowan Trophy when the competition begins on Sunday week.

Since its launch over 40 years ago, it has grown in popularity and continues to attract large numbers of golfers from across Northern Ireland.

Gavan Morris, Magners marketing manager, has good reason to be pleased. “From a Magners point of view this has been a very exciting time for us,” he said.

“We launched Magners Pear earlier in the year and just like the golf foursomes competition Magners Pear comes with all the credentials and heritage that you would expect from a product carrying the Magners name. That is why the sponsorship is such an excellent association for the brand.

“Our wish for the organisers and competitors is that this is a successful and mainly rain free tournament.

“All the competitors who tee off at Holywood Golf Club will enjoy, we can confidentially predict, the refreshingly light crisp taste of Magners Pear when they reach the 19th hole!”

The top 16 teams will progress to the first knockout round which is being staged on August 23.

The semi-finals and final will be held on Sunday, August 30.

Holywood are staging the tournament as the holders although last year’s champions, Jonathan King and Andrew Nugent, will not be defending the trophy they won as their handicaps have improved beyond the permitted minimum of six.

Belfast Telegraph Foursomes draw: 8.30: Holywood 1, Belvoir Park 1; 8.40: Holywood 2, Belvoir Park 2; 8.50: Bangor 1, Ormeau 1; 9.00: Bangor 2, Ormeau 2; 9.10: Mount Ober 1, Temple 1; 9.20: Mount Ober 2, Temple 2; 9.30: Dunmurry 1 Helen’s Bay 1; 9.40: Dunmurry 2 Helen’s Bay 2; 9.50: Donaghadee 1 Malone 1. 10.00: Donaghadee 2 Malone 2.

10.10: Kirkistown Castle, Greenacres; 10.20: Fortwilliam 1, Downpatrick 1; 10.30: Fortwilliam 2, Downpatrick 2; 10.40: Mahee Island 1, Spa 1; 10.50: Mahee Island 2, Spa 2; 11.00: Shandon Park 1, Carrickfergus 1

11.10: Shandon Park 2, Carrickfergus 2; 11.20: Ardglass, Scrabo; 11.30: Ballyclare 1, Mayobridge 1; 11.40: Ballyclare 2, Mayobridge 2; 11.50: Cairndhu 1 Banbridge 1; 12.00: Cairndhu 2, Banbridge 2; 12.10: City of Belfast 1, Lisburn 1; 12.20: City of Belfast 2, Lisburn 2; 12.30: Larne 1, Mourne 1; 12.40: Larne 2, Mourne 2; 12.50: Kilkeel 1 Whitehead 11

1.00: Kilkeel 2, Whitehead 2; 1.10: Silverwood 1, Gracehill; 1.20: Silverwood 2, Royal Portrush; 1.30: Rockmount 1, Tandragee 1; 1.40: Rockmount 2, Tandragee 2; 1.50: Kilrea, Balmoral

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph