Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Dunlop backs Hall of Fame award

By Roy Harris

Published 10/01/2013

William Dunlop, David White (Charles Hurst) and Peter Gordon (Charles Hurst Marketing Director) launch the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year Hall of Fame award
William Dunlop, David White (Charles Hurst) and Peter Gordon (Charles Hurst Marketing Director) launch the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year Hall of Fame award

One of the most eagerly awaited announcements at the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year presentations in association with Adelaide on Friday, January 18 will be to hear who will receive the Charles Hurst Yamaha Hall of Fame Award at the black tie function in the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Belfast.

William Dunlop, recently signed to ride for the Milwaukee Yamaha Team, yesterday helped launch the sponsorship of this particular award.

“My dad Robert was really proud to be the first person ever to be put into Irish Motorcycling’s Hall of Fame, so I am delighted to help Charles Hurst Yamaha launch their sponsorship of this years award,” said the Ballymoney ace.

“My brother Michael and I would love to join dad in the Hall of Fame some day — but not for a few years yet.

“With both of us securing factory rides in 2013 it is going to be an exciting season ahead.”

Peter Gordon, the marketing director of Charles Hurst. added: “We are thrilled to be backing this years’ Hall of Fame Award. It is one of the most prestigious awards in the sport and on Friday week we will be honouring a true Northern Ireland great.

“I know who the winner is and he’s one of the best riders we have ever produced. All will be revealed on January 18.

“As sole Yamaha distributor we are delighted to be giving something back to the community that supports us.

“It is also great to have William help launch our award as I have fond memories of his father Robert and uncle Joey racing at the North West 200. “

Previous winners of this coveted award have been Robert Dunlop, Phillip McCallen, Brian Reid, Gary Cowan, Ray McCullough, Eddie Laycock, Sammy Miller, Joey Dunlop and last year Steven Cull, who received a standing ovation from the packed audience as he collected his trophy.

McCullough will help present the Hall of Fame Award along with David White of Charles Hurst, while Brian Reid, Phillip McCallen, Gary Cowan and Steven Cull will all be in attendance along with John McGuinness, Michael Rutter and Ian Hutchinson on this special night for our biking stars.

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph