Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

MacHale leads the way to Donegal

By Sammy Hamill

Published 08/06/2010

Gareth MacHale, last year’s winner, tops a capacity entry list for the Topaz Donegal International Rally starting on June 18.

MacHale is No.1 in a line-up which includes reigning British champion Keith Cronin, the Cork driver making only his second appearance in an Irish Tarmac championship event this year.

McHale is defending his British title with the Pirelli TEG Sport Subaru team but is being “loaned” to rivals JR Motorsport to drive their production Mitsubishi Evo X in Donegal.

Returning to the Citroen Tarmac series, too, is Circuit of Ireland Rally winner Derek McGarrity who has set his sights on winning this year’s Irish national championship.

He is currently third in the standings after finishing fifth on the Circuit of Munster at the weekend. His Subaru Impreza was delayed by a puncture but he was already trailing behind the Subarus of Welsh winner Mel Evans — the series leader — and second placed Niall Maguire.

McGarrity will start at No.3 in Donegal behind MacHale and Tim McNulty with Cronin at four.

Tarmac championship leader Alastair Fisher is at seven with Jonny Greer, leader of the British championship, at No.12.

Top of the Donegal entry list: 1 Gareth MacHale (Ford Focus), 2 Tim McNulty (Subaru Impreza), 3 Derek McGarrity (Subaru Impreza), 4 Keith Cronin (Mitsubishi Lancer N), 5 Sean Devine (Subaru Impreza), 6 Aaron MacHale (Ford Focus), 7 Alastair Fisher (Mitsubishi Lancer N), 8 Craig Breen (Ford Fiesta S2000), 9 Daragh O'Riordan (Subaru Impreza) 10 PJ McDermott (Subaru Impreza), 11 Seamus Leonard (Subaru Impreza), 12 Jonathan Greer (Mitsubishi Lancer N), 14 Paul Harris (Subaru Impreza N), 15 Damien Tourish (Mitsubishi |Lancer N).

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph