Belfast Telegraph

Friday 18 April 2014

McGarrity targeting a double

Derek McGarrity

Derek McGarrity heads a capacity entry for Saturday's second round of the Northern Ireland rally championship at Bishopscourt.

The former champion and triple Circuit of Ireland winner won the opening round of the Hankook-sponsored series at Kirkistown and now aims for two-in-a-row in the Ballynahinch Club's McGrady Insurance Stages event at the ex-RAF airfield race circuit near Downpatrick.

But Kenny McKinstry, who was third at Kirkistown, misses out because his Banbridge team have commitments at the West Cork Rally which also takes place this weekend.

McGarrity's Subaru will be followed off the start line by current NI champion Connor McCloskey, his Ford Focus sandwiched in the middle of a further string of Subarus driven by Denis Biggerstaff, Seamus Leonard, George Robinson, English visitor Ray Brammer and Emma McKinstry. Emma is one of four female drivers with Becky Cherry, Samantha Thom and Roisin Boyd also taking part.

Raymond Johnston, the Group N winner at Kirkistown, heads the production entries at eight ahead of current champion Cathal Rogers, both driving Mitsubishis.

The rally starts at 9am and Harry Coulter, the chief marshal, says he requires additional volunteers to help police the event. He can be contacted on 07946970260

Latest Sport News

Stats Centre