Belfast Telegraph

Thursday 18 September 2014

TT legends on grid for awards

The star-studded guest list for January bike awards includes, from left, John McGuinness, Alastair Seeley, Conor Cummins, John Burrows, Denver Robb, Steve Mercer, Kirk Jamison, Brian McCormack, Jeremy McWilliams, Ian Hutchinson and, front, Vauxhall International North West 200 race chief Mervyn Whyte

With voting well underway to determine the Adelaide Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, organisers have confirmed the addition of road race stars John McGuinness, Ian Hutchinson and Conor Cummins to a star-studded guest list for the Gala Black Tie evening in the Ramada Plaza Hotel, Belfast on Friday, January 18 where the presentation of the unique Joey Dunlop Trophy will be made to the winner.

All three are no strangers to Northern Ireland and are TT heroes with McGuinness the outright lap record holder around the Isle of Man Mountain Circuit and second on the all-time winners list with 19 victories, just seven behind Joey Dunlop’s record of 26.

Already signed for another season with the Honda Legends team, McGuinness is relishing another attack on the Vauxhall International North West 200 and TT next summer.

Hutchinson holds a unique record at the TT as the only man to win all five solo races in one week during 2010, but the ‘Bingley Bullett’ has had his racing curtailed since then due to an horrific leg injury sustained during a British Supersport crash at Silverstone in September of the same year.

He rode at last years North West 200 and TT, but has since been forced to take another sabbatical from the sport, as he continues the long road to recovery.

Cummins, the fastest ever Manxman around the TT Mountain Circuit, rode for the local Tyco Suzuki TAS team last year, but missed out on competing at his beloved TT after suffering a nasty hand injury at the North West 200.

Hundreds have already cast their vote online at, closing on New Year's Eve after which the top six with the most votes will then be revealed and the winner announced at the eagerly awaited award presentation evening.

Places can be reserved by e-mailing or phone 07584058810.

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Nightlife galleries


Latest Sport News

Stats Centre