Belfast Telegraph

Sunday 2 August 2015

Cricket: Clubs keep 10-team leagues

By Ian Callender

Published 21/10/2009 | 03:04

The NCU’s Cricket Developement Director accused the clubs of not supporting their union last night after a motion to change to eight-team leagues from 2011 did not achieve the neccessary majority.

Although the proposal was supported by 50 delegates to 39, it failed by four votes to have 60% support. A survey carried out by the directorate had shown 70% backing, although 11 clubs did not return forms.

Director Andy Clement said: “The vote was not cast in favour of NCU cricket. Rather, clubs voted in their local interests.

“The Development Directorate have worked hard to further cricket in the NCU but tonight we have found that while clubs may say ‘yes’ for change on paper they have voted ‘no’ with their hands.”

The other major changes were supported at the annual meeting which was chaired by new president Dr Murray Power.

Only the top two leagues will contest the Challenge Cup next season and the final will remain a one-innings match.

Rearranged league games can be reduced to five overs per side.

The new NCU chairman is Roger Bell, the vice chairman is Brian Walsh and Chris Harte is the new vice president.

Outgoing president Ian Gourley was elected a life member.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph