Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Draw is double tops for Dolan and Gurney

Northern Ireland duo Brendan Dolan and Daryl Gurney have been handed an excellent chance to make it into the second round of the William Hill World Darts Championship.

Belcoo thrower Dolan, ranked 18 in the world, will begin his campaign against Australia's Kyle Anderson. Londonderry man Gurney, who had an impressive run in the Players' Championship, has been drawn against No.31 seed Jamie Lewis.

Defending king Gary Anderson will play either Denmark's Per Laursen or a qualifier.

William Hill World Darts Championship Preliminary Round: Michael Rasztovits (Austria) v Rob Szabo (New Zealand); Keita Ono (Japan) v Alex Tagarao (Philippines); Warrick Scheffer (South Africa) v John Michael (Greece); Qiang Sun (China) v Mick McGowan (Rep of Ireland); Aleksandr Oreshkin (Russia) v Paul Lim (Singapore); Kim Viljanen (Finland) v Sven Groen (Netherlands); PDPA Qualifier Runner-Up v Per Laursen (Denmark); Thanawat Gaweenuntawong (Thailand) v Rene Eidams (Germany).

First Round Draw: Michael van Gerwen (1) v Thanawat Gaweenuntawong/Rene Eidams; John Henderson (32) v Darren Webster; Raymond van Barneveld (16) v Dirk van Duijvenbode; Stephen Bunting (17) v Jyhan Artut; Michael Smith (8) v Jeffrey De Zwaan; Steve Beaton (25) v Koha Kokiri; Ian White (9) v Dimitri Van den Bergh; Benito van de Pas (24) v Max Hopp; Adrian Lewis (5) v Jan Dekker; Andrew Gilding (28) v Gerwyn Price; Kim Huybrechts (12) v David Pallett; Mensur Suljovic (21) v Jermaine Wattimena; Peter Wright (4) v Keegan Brown; Dean Winstanley (29) v Ronny Huybrechts; Dave Chisnall (13) v Rowby-John Rodriguez; Justin Pipe (20) v Christian Kist; Gary Anderson (2) v PDPA Qualifier Runner-Up/Per Laursen; Jamie Lewis (31) v Daryl Gurney; Vincent van der Voort (15) v Loz Ryder; Brendan Dolan (18) v Kyle Anderson; James Wade (7) v Warrick Scheffer/John Michael; Wes Newton (26) v Cristo Reyes; Simon Whitlock (10) v PDPA Qualifier Winner; Jamie Caven (23) v Michael Rasztovits/Rob Szabo; Robert Thornton (6) v Alan Norris; Andy Hamilton (27) v Joe Murnan; Terry Jenkins (11) v Darin Young; Mark Webster (22) v Qiang Sun/Mick McGowan; Phil Taylor (3) v Keita Ono/Alex Taragao; Kevin Painter (30) v Kim Viljanen/Sven Groen; Mervyn King (14) v Aleksandr Oreshkin/Paul Lim; Jelle Klaasen (19) v Joe Cullen.

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph