Belfast Telegraph

Sunday 29 March 2015

GAA: Armagh talent trawl in search for future stars

A major push to bring honours to Armagh at Under 14 level in girls' football has been launched.

Extensive trials have already been held and the trawl will continue to unearth players who may be candidates for the county panel which is being formed.

Bronagh Donnelly is among the officials keen to see Armagh make an impact at this level and believes that the initial response from clubs augurs well for future prospects.

"Obviously you depend to a very great extent on the level of co-operation and commitment you get from clubs so it's certainly encouraging to know that so many are rowing in behind us.

"There is quite a competitive element even at this level so we need to be on our toes," points out Bronagh.

Mickey McElroy is team manager and he is focusing on trying to bring Armagh to the fore.

"We want to get together a panel that will be capable of competing against the other counties - we feel that Armagh has the potential to do well," says McElroy.

The following are among the players still in the frame to make the cut:

C O'Callaghan, S McKeever, M O'Callaghan (Belleeks) L McConville, L Morris, T O'Neill, N Hughes, T O'Callaghan, M O'Donnell, M McCooey, M Cannon, S Armstrong, C McCann, A McConville (Crossmaglen), N O'Loughlin, T Carragher, S Conlon, A McParland, D Mackin, A O'Connor, P Toner, B Murphy (Cullyhanna), J Murphy, A Kirk, N Gollogly, M Tiernan, J Rocks, J Daly, N McKenna, C McMullan, K Daly (Dromintee), K Quinn (Dorsey), D Quinn, L Sheridan, N Donaghy, A Shannon (Forkhill)

C OHagan, G Fegan, C Shortt, B McKenna, A Molloy (Keady), S Murphy, O Maguiness, K Byrne (Killeavy), E McVerry (Mullaghbawn), S Gernan, G Murphy, S Bennett (Silverbridge), S O'Grady, P Carroll (Carrickcruppen) E Murphy, C McGeough (Ballyhegan), M McCormack, K O'Neill (Clonmore), R Lennon, O Fox (Derrynoose), G Duffy, C Carr (Granemore), J Mullen, C Hughes, M Mone, A Toal, C McGleenan (Grange), M Morgan, K Grimley, L Owens, C Collins (Harps), C O'Hagan (Keady), N Woods (Middletown), R McGeown, E Fields, F Boyce (Mullaghbrack), B McKinney, A Heaney, J Fields (Pearse Ogs), A McBirney, P Nugent (Phelim Bradys), N Kelly (Tullysaren) N Henderson, A Neville, A Lennon, J Skelton, A Greene, N McCarthy, A McCarthy, L Heffron, A Downey (Clann Eireann).

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Nightlife galleries


Latest Sport News

Stats Centre