Belfast Telegraph

Tuesday 6 October 2015

Bejenaru not yet ready to make a return for Ulster

By John Flack

Published 06/08/2014

Sidelined: Karola Bejenaru hurt her hamstring two weeks ago
Sidelined: Karola Bejenaru hurt her hamstring two weeks ago

Karola Bejenaru has been ruled out of the Ulster squad for this weekend's senior inter-provincial tournament at the David Lloyd Centre in Dundonald.

The 17-year-old Romanian-born Windsor player is still suffering from a hamstring injury she sustained at the ITF junior ranking tournament in Donnybrook a fortnight ago.

She was told to rest the injury for three weeks, but the selectors named her in the five-strong squad in the hope that she might have made a speedier than expected recovery.

Physios have informed her that she would not be fit for the weekend and with news of her enforced withdrawal only being confirmed last night, the selectors have not yet named a replacement for the talented teenager.

The rest of the ladies line-up is made up of juniors Lucy Octave, Laura Reid and Emily Beatty along with the experienced Kerri Russell.

The men's team is led by Windsor's Przemek Stec and the Polish native is joined by twins Alex and Gordon Watt along with Ben Fetherston and Aaron Stubbs.

Bejenaru is also a major doubt for the Ulster under-18 squad which will be heading to Castlebar next week for the junior inter-pros.

Ulster squads: Senior: Men: Przemec Stec (Windsor); Alex Watt (Hilden); Aaron Stubbs (Donaghadee); Ben Fetherston (Windsor); Gordon Watt (David Lloyd).

Ladies: Lucy Octave (Donaghadee); Laura Reid (Windsor); Emily Beatty (Downshire); Kerri Russell (ATT); A.N. Other. Non playing captain: to be confirmed.

Junior: Under-14 Boys: Rory Cunningham (Hawarden);Harry Ellsmere (Bangor); Jordan McKeown (St Patricks Racquets);Kyran Maguire (Irvinestown); Caleb Ralston (Portadown).

Under-18 Boys: Alasdair Knox (David Lloyd);Matthew McClurg (Windsor); Ardghal McMahon (Newry and Warrenpoint); Matthew O'Boyle (Bangor);David Weir (David Lloyd).

Under-14 Girls: Megan Chambers (Hawarden); Jessica Leeman (Hawarden); Jessica Moore (Windsor); Mary Parkash (Coleraine); Eimear Smythe (Enniskillen). Non playing captain: Lynsey McCullough

Under-18 Girls: Emily Beattie (Downshire); Karola Bejenaru (Windsor); Annie McCullough (Windsor); Lucy Octave (Donaghadee); Laura Reid (Windsor). Non playing captain: Sam Armstrong.

From the web

Sponsored Videos

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph