Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Racing

Four jockeys found guilty by BHA

Jockeys Jimmy Quinn, Kirsty Milczarek, Greg Fairley and Paul Doe were all found in breach of the rules at a British Horseracing Authority hearing into alleged corruption, the findings of which were published on Wednesday.

Former jockey Paul Fitzsimons, now a trainer, was found not guilty.

The riders, along with eight other individuals, faced charges relating to 10 races between January 17, 2009 and August 15, 2009.

Doe and Fairley were hit with the most serious breaches among 11 found guilty in all, and were the only two riders found guilty of deliberately ensuring horses did not run on their merits.

Quinn and Milczarek were found in breach of the old Rule 201 (v) 'Guilty of or conspires with any other person for the commission of, or connives at any other person being guilty of, any corrupt or fraudulent practice in relation to racing in this or any other country'.

Milczarek was also found in breach of former Rule 243 'Passing information for reward'.

Doe was found in breach of former Rule 201 (v) and Rule 243, and two counts of former Rule 157 'Where, in the opinion of the Stewards or the BHA, a Rider has intentionally failed to ensure that his horse is run on its merits the Rider shall be deemed in breach of this Rule and guilty of an offence'.

Fairley was found in breach of the old Rule 201 (v) and Rule 243, and one count of former Rule 157.

The BHA disciplinary panel found registered owners Maurice Sines and James Crickmore in breach of former Rule 201 (v) and also Rule 247 - laying a horse they owned on a betting exchange. Five other individuals - Nick Gold, Peter Gold, Shaun Harris, David Kendrick and Liam Vasey - were found in breach of former Rule 201 (v).

Darren May was found not in breach of any rules.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph