Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

All Blacks dominate Baa-baas squad

Six New Zealand All Blacks have been named in an initial group of 12 players for the Barbarians' appointment with England at Twickenham on June 1.

Baa-baas coach Dean Ryan is due to confirm the remainder of his squad next week.

The current list of players includes All Blacks wings Sitiveni Sivivatu, Hosea Gear and Joe Rokocoko, plus their fellow New Zealand internationals Jimmy Cowan, Benson Stanley and Andrew Hore.

Australia back James O'Connor also features, together with Brock James, Juan-Martin Leguizamon, Sona Taumalolo, Joe Tekori and Davit Zirakashvili.

"It is very rarely that you get the opportunity to work with a squad containing this much quality," Ryan said.

" The Barbarians are a special entity, and I am very excited to be involved."

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph