Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Beale set to start

Kurtley Beale will start at fly-half for Australia as they begin their Rugby Championship campaign against New Zealand at ANZ Stadium on Saturday.

Beale replaces his NSW Waratahs team-mate Bernard Foley, who drops to the bench, for the Bledisloe Cup clash as Wallabies coach Ewen McKenzie makes six changes to the side that beat France 39-13 last time out in June.

Fellow Waratah Adam Ashley-Cooper moves to outside centre after a fine season in midfield for the Super Rugby champions, with Ben Horne and Pat McCabe coming in on the wings as Pat Cummins departs due to his club commitments in Japan.

In the pack, Western Force hooker Nathan Charles replaces the injured Tatafu Polota-Nau, while Sam Carter returns in the second row after he missed the final two tests against France with an ankle injury.

McKenzie revealed that he agonised over a number of the changes after his side clinched their seventh consecutive win against the French, particularly at fly-half as Foley drops to the bench.

"Bernard hasn't put a foot wrong since we chose him in June, but Kurtley has really stepped up his game over the past few months and he's consistently been one of the Waratahs best players every week," he told

"He'll bring some additional x-factor to our game. We feel that will suit our two-playmaker framework and ensure we have the right balance in those positions along with Matt Toomua.

"Kurtley's also an experienced guy who has played 42 Tests, so he will enjoy the added responsibility of wearing the number 10 jersey."

Wallabies XV to face New Zealand: I Folau (Waratahs); P McCabe (Brumbies), A Ashley-Cooper (Waratahs), M Toomua (Brumbies), R Horne (Waratahs), K Beale (Waratahs), N White (Brumbies); J Slipper (Reds), N Charles (Western Force), S Kepu (Waratahs), R Simmons (Reds), S Carter (Brumbies), S Fardy (Brumbies) , M Hooper (Waratahs), W Palu (Waratahs).

Reserves: J Hanson (Reds), P Cowan (Western Force), B Alexander (Brumbies), W Skelton (Waratahs), B McCalman (Western Force), S Higginbotham (Melbourne Rebels), N Phipps (Waratahs), B Foley (Waratahs) T Kuridrani (Brumbies).

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph