Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Friday night fever in store for Ulster

By Niall Crozier

Ulster have just one home Saturday game in the first half of 2011/12 fixtures in the RaboDirect PRO12.

Where possible, Ulster have opted for Friday night games at Ravenhill, the one exception being the showdown with Connacht which will take place on Saturday, November 5 thereby avoiding a clash with the previous evening’s televised Leinster v Munster derby at the Aviva Stadium.

Ulster launch their PRO12 campaign at home to Glasgow on Friday, September 2 (7.05pm) followed by the first of four encounters against Aironi in 2011/12.

That is at the Stadio Zafanella on Saturday, September 10 (2pm).

After that come three matches against Welsh opponents — Cardiff at Ravenhill (September 16), Ospreys at Liberty Stadium (Sunday, September 25) and NG Dragons at Rodney Parade just five days later (Friday, September 30).

Brian McLaughlin’s men will have just one Ravenhill outing the following month — against Treviso on October 7.

After the two-week break for the Rugby World Cup semi-finals and final, the PRO12 series resumes with Ulster returning to Wales to face the Scarlets (Saturday, October 29).

That home date with Connacht is followed by two weekends of Heineken Cup action after which Ulster travel to Glasgow before hosting the Scarlets.

After rounds three and four of the Heineken Cup comes the traditional inter-pro festive fare with Ulster facing Leinster at the RDS on Boxing Day before hosting Munster at Ravenhill on December 30.

Tickets for all confirmed home PRO12 matches go on sale from Monday.

Ulster’s RaboDirect PRO12 fixtures: Friday, September 2: Ulster v Glasgow Warriors (7.05pm); Saturday, Sept 10: Aironi v Ulster (2pm); Friday, September 16: Ulster v Cardiff Blues (7.05pm); Sun, Sept 25: Ospreys v Ulster (4.30pm); Fri, Sept 30: NG Dragons v Ulster (7.05pm); Friday, October 7: Ulster v Benetton Treviso (7.05pm); Saturday, Oct 29: Scarlets v Ulster (3pm); Saturday, November 5: Ulster v Connacht (5.35pm); Friday, Nov 25: Glasgow Warriors v Ulster (7.35pm); Friday, December 2: Ulster v Scarlets (7.05pm); Monday, December 26: Leinster v Ulster (5.30pm); Friday, December 30: Ulster v Munster (7.05pm).

Belfast Telegraph

Popular

From Belfast Telegraph