Belfast Telegraph

Thursday 26 May 2016

Heineken Cup: Ulster make changes for Castres match

By Jack Brennan

Published 18/01/2013

Ruan Pienaar is set to start for Ulster tomorrow
Ruan Pienaar is set to start for Ulster tomorrow

Ulster Coach Mark Ansconbe has made four personnel changes and two positional switches for tomorrow afternoon's Heineken Cup round 6 match against Castres, (1:45pm KO)

Fly-half Paddy Jackson drops to the bench with Anscombe selecting Ruan Pienaar in his place, partnered by Paul Marshall at scrum-half.

The injury sustained to Jared Payne last week has meant that usual winger Craig Gilroy is deployed at full back with Michael Allen replacing him on the wing. There are starts, too, for Neil McComb and Roger Wilson who comes in for the injured Nick Williams who requires surgery on his knee and will be out for eight weeks.

Lock Neil McComb gets his first European start after being named ahead of Iain Henderson who drops to the bench. There are no changes to the front row which includes Rory Best, John Afoa and Tom Court who has picked up two Man of the Match awards in his last three starts.

Paul Marshall's inclusion in the starting XV has meant that Michael Heaney is named among the replacements with fellow backs Chris Cochrane and Paddy Jackson. Rob Herring, Callum Black and Declan Fitzpatrick retain their places as front row substitutes, with Henderson and McComish providing further cover.

Although Ulster have already qualified for the quarter-finals, Saturday afternoon's match will decide whether Ulster play at home or away in the knock out stages.

The hosts have won three of their last four home games in the Heineken Cup, but were heavily defeated by Ulster in the reverse fixture last October.

Ulster XV & replacements v Castres Olympique, Heineken Cup Pool 4, Saturday 19th January, Stade Pierre-Antoine, (kick off 1.35 GMT):

(15-9): C Gilroy; A Trimble, D Cave, P Wallace, M Allen; R Pienaar, P Marshall;

(1-8): T Court, R Best, J Afoa, L Stevenson, N McComb, R Diack, C Henry (capt), R Wilson;

Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, D Fitzpatrick, I Henderson, M McComish, M Heaney, P Jackson, C Cochrane.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph