Belfast Telegraph

Tuesday 31 May 2016

Tommy Bowe in Ulster's match-day squad to face Saracens

Published 05/04/2013

Tommy Bowe
Tommy Bowe

Ulster winger Tommy Bowe has recovered from injury and been named in the match day squad to face Saracens in the Heineken Cup quarter-final at Twickenham tomorrow evening (kick-off 18.30).

The Ireland international hasn’t played since he suffered knee ligament damage against Northampton in December and is named on the bench for the game.

All Black tight-head prop, John Afoa, returns to the starting XV after he missed the win over Leinster at the RDS as he was in New Zealand for the birth of his third child.

There are two further changes to the team that recorded Ulster’s first win in Dublin since 1999 for the Quarter-Final clash with Saracens.

Iain Henderson is preferred at blindside flanker to Robbie Diack who drops to the bench, while Luke Marshall starts at inside-centre having recovered from the concussion that he sustained playing for Ireland against Italy in the RBS 6 Nations.

Commenting on the return of Tommy Bowe, Ulster Head Coach, Mark Anscombe, said: “Tommy has trained very well. He is chomping at the bit to get out there – he has missed a lot of rugby and he wants to play. We want to accommodate him because he is a world-class player. It is a credit to our Head of Strength and Conditioning, Jonny Davis, and to Gareth Robinson, Alan McCaldin and the rest of our medical staff that he is ready.”

Looking ahead to the game, Anscombe added: “We're playing in the quarter-final of a great competition, at one of the best grounds in rugby, against the side leading the Aviva Premiership and there's going to be a big crowd. It doesn't get any better than that.”

More than 35,000 tickets have been sold for the match. Tickets are still available via Ticketmaster. Tickets can also be purchased tomorrow at the RFU ticket office at Twickenham from 2pm.

Ulster XV and replacements to face Saracens, Heineken Cup Quarter-Final, Twickenham, Saturday 6th April 2013 (kick off 18.30);

(15-9): J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, C Gilroy, P Jackson, R Pienaar;
(1-8): T Court, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller (c), D Tuohy, I Henderson, C Henry, N Williams;
Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, R Lutton, R Diack, M McComish, P Marshall, S Olding, T Bowe.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph