Belfast Telegraph

Wednesday 6 May 2015

Humphreys in hunt for prestigious Euro award

Former Ulster out half David Humphreys is in the running for a prestigious award to celebrate 15 years of the European Rugby Cup.

Humphreys, who memorably captained Ulster to European glory in 1999 by beating Colomiers in the final at Lansdowne Road, has been nominated in his position for European dream team and will go up against Austin Healey, Stephen Jones, Diego Dominguez and ex-Irish team mate Ronan O’Gara.

O’Gara is also one of four Irishmen who are up for the Best European Player Award, alongside Paul O’Connell, Brian O’Driscoll and David Wallace.

Best European player from the past 15 years: Lawrence Dallaglio, Rocky Elsom, Yannick Jauzion, Martin Johnson, Paul |O'Connell, Brian O'Driscoll, Ronan O'Gara, Fabien Pelous, David Wallace.

European Coach Award: Warren Gatland, Declan Kidney, Guy Noves, Ian McGeechan, Dean Richards.

European Fair Play Award: Fabien Galthie, Jeremy Guscott, John Hayes, Alessandro Troncon, Martyn Williams.

European Dream Team — leading candidates as chosen by ERC panel

Full backs: Josh Lewsey, Geordan Murphy, Clement Poitrenaud, Tim Stimpson, Mark van Gisbergen.

Wings: Vincent Clerc, Cedric Heymans, Dafydd James, Josh Lewsey, Emile Ntamack.

Centres: Pat Howard, Yannick Jauzion, Christophe Lamaison, O'Driscoll, Fraser Waters.

Outside halves: Diego Dominguez, Austin Healey, David Humphreys, Stephen Jones, Ronan O'Gara.

Scrum halves: Philippe Carbonneau, Jean-Baptiste Elissalde, Austin Healey, Rob Howley, Peter Stringer.

Props: Christian Califano, Pieter de Villers, Peter Clohessy, Darren Garforth, Hayes, Sylvain Marconnet, Jean-Baptiste Poux, Rodrigo Roncero, Graham Rowntree, Julian White.

Hookers: Jerry Flannery, Raphael Ibanez, Mario Ledesma, William Servat, Keith Wood.

Second Rows: Ben Kay, Johnson, O'Connell, Fabien Pelous, Simon Shaw.

Wing Forwards: Neil Back, Jean Bouilhou, Martin Corry, Rocky Elsom, Greg Kacala, Oliiver Magne, Alan Quinlan, David Wallace, Martyn Williams, Joe Worsley.

No 8s: Dallaglio, Anthony Foley, Jamie Heaslip, Christian Labit, Scott Quinnell.

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Nightlife galleries


Latest Sport News

Stats Centre