Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home Sport Rugby

New Zealand's Richie McCaw given all-clear for Rugby World Cup final

Published 25/10/2015

Richie McCaw, pictured, will not face punishment over his collision with Francois Louw
Richie McCaw, pictured, will not face punishment over his collision with Francois Louw

New Zealand captain Richie McCaw has not been cited for his collision with Francois Louw of South Africa in Saturday's World Cup semi-final.

An initial replay of the incident after 20 minutes of a match won 20-18 by the All Blacks suggested the openside was in danger of being cited, but a different angle revealed he merely caught Louw's shoulder with his hip.

"There are no citings from the semi-final between New Zealand and South Africa," a World Rugby spokesman said.

McCaw will be at the helm when the All Blacks face Australia in Saturday's final at Twickenham.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting? customercare@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph