Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

O'Gara retains Ireland place

Ronan O'Gara continues at fly-half after Ireland named an unchanged team for Saturday's RBS 6 Nations clash with Wales at the Millennium Stadium.

O'Gara has been retained ahead of Jonathan Sexton following his man-of-the-match display in the 21-18 victory against Scotland.

The 34-year-old is just two short of accumulating 1,000 Test points after scoring a try and landing three conversions at Murrayfield.

Winning his 107th cap on Saturday, he is also two Tests adrift of equalling Mike Gibson's all-time championship appearance record of 56.

Eoin Reddan continues at scrum-half following a fine display against Scotland, keeping Tomas O'Leary out of the squad.

Captain Brian O'Driscoll, who will win his 111th cap, needs just one try to equal Ian Smith's all-time championship try-scoring record of 24.

Declan Kidney's side head to Cardiff, where they have lost just once since 1985, as marginal 11/10 underdogs following a mixed Six Nations undermined by on-field disciplinary issues and a high error-count.

For all their problems, Ireland retain a technical chance of winning the championship, though England's vastly superior points difference indicates it is well beyond them.

Ireland team: L Fitzgerald (Leinster); T Bowe (Ospreys), B O'Driscoll (Leinster, capt), G D'Arcy (Leinster), K Earls (Munster); R O'Gara (Munster), E Reddan (Leinster); C Healy (Leinster), R Best (Ulster), M Ross (Leinster), D O'Callaghan (Munster), P O'Connell (Munster), S O'Brien (Leinster), D Wallace (Munster), J Heaslip (Leinster).

Replacements: S Cronin (Connacht), T Court (Ulster), L Cullen (Leinster), D Leamy (Munster), P Stringer (Munster), J Sexton (Leinster), P Wallace (Ulster).

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph