Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

Rudy Paige only uncapped player in seasoned South Africa squad

Scrum-half Rudy Paige is the solitary uncapped player named in South Africa's 31-man World Cup squad.

Paige lines up alongside the likes of cap centurions Victor Matfield, Bryan Habana and Jean de Villiers, with centre De Villiers captaining the Springboks.

Lock Matfield and flanker Schalk Burger will take part in their fourth World Cup, but 16 of the squad have never previously played in rugby union's global showpiece.

The squad also includes Saracens hooker Schalk Brits, Bath flanker Francois Louw and Ulster scrum-half Ruan Pienaar.

"Every single player in our wider group worked incredibly hard, and to cut the squad to 31 was probably the most difficult selection I've faced in my coaching career," Springboks coach Heyneke Meyer told

"I think the squad has a great balance between youth and experience, while keeping together the core of the team that did the country proud in the last few years.

"We also have a number of players who know what it takes to win a World Cup, and their knowledge will be very valuable."

Louw (shoulder), De Villiers (fractured jaw), Duane Vermeulen (neck), Jannie du Plessis (knee), Fourie du Preez (knee), Willie le Roux (ankle) and Coenie Oosthuizen (neck) are all recovering from various injuries, but the Springboks say they are close to full match fitness.

"The best medical scenarios were taken into consideration with the selection process," Meyer added.

"Our medical team have worked incredibly hard with these players, and we're confident they will be ready to be considered to play Japan."

South Africa open their World Cup campaign against Japan in Brighton on September 19, while they also face pool appointments with Scotland, Samoa and the United States.

South Africa World Cup squad: Backs - W le Roux, Z Kirchner, L Mvovo, J P Pietersen, B Habana, J de Villiers (capt), D de Allende, J Kriel, P Lambie, H Pollard, M Steyn, F du Preez, R Pienaar, R Paige.

Forwards - J du Plessis, F Malherbe, T Mtawarira, T Nyakane, C Oosthuizen, S Brits, B du Plessis, A Strauss, L de Jager, P-S du Toit, E Etzebeth, V Matfield, W Alberts, S Burger, S Kolisi, F Louw, D Vermuelen.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph