Belfast Telegraph

Monday 30 May 2016

Home Sport Rugby Schools Cup

Clarke is last-gasp hero for Ballyclare

Ballyclare High 15 Portora Royal 12

Published 09/02/2010

There was plenty of excitement at Ballyclare where the home team needed a last-gasp try to qualify for the quarter-final.

There were only a couple of minutes remaining when play was brought into the Portora '22' where a penalty was awarded. The referee stated there wasn't enough time for a lineout so Ballyclare kept the ball tight and finally, eight minutes into injury-time, they were rewarded when their captain and No 8 David Clarke crashed over for Chris Harvey to convert.

It was an exciting encounter and the result could have gone either way after Ballyclare led 8-5 at half-time. After 19 minutes good forward play resulted in a dummy by Johnny Holmes and the out-half crossed for an unconverted try.

The Enniskillen team came back and following a pick-and-go, Charlie Sargaison levelled before Chris Harvey’s penalty.

The score remained 8-5 for most of the evenly contested second-half. Ballyclare took up a position around the visiting '22' but the strong Portora defence held firm. Then Ballyclare made a couple of mistakes and play reverted to the other end where they scored a try with only six minutes remaining which gave them a 12-8 lead.

Matthew Tanswell was the scorer with James Gormley adding the conversion.

From the drop-out, Portora knocked on and this rekindled the home confidence which finally resulted in that grandstand ending.

It was a close contest but Ballyclare were victorious and now have the virtually impossible task of trying to defeat Methody at Pirrie Park.

Ballyclare High: C.Harvey, J.Douglas, M.Lok, C.Anderson, L.Bailie, J.Holmes, C.Millar, D.Clarke, J.F. Bester, P.McMechan, G.Bartely, T.McLintock, S.Forbes, M.Logan, B.Wilson, S.Forbes, C.Shearer, P.Kennedy, P.Crawford, K.Johnston, M.McComb, P.Ferguson, S.Beattie

Portora Royal: S.Burrell, S.Patterson, J.Gormley, J.McKenzie, A.Morrison, J.Ferguson, R.Gibson, C.Sargaison, J.Foster, M.Trimble, R.Blair, J.Bready, P.Dickie, R.Ogle M.Tanswell, N.McCrea, S.McIlveen, A.Farrell, N.Allen, G.Rutherford, J.Houston, J.Magwood

Referee : B.O'Hara

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph