Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Rugby

The Calcutta Cup in numbers

England will be hoping to record their 18th consecutive Test victory when they take on Scotland in the RBS 6 Nations on Saturday.

Here, Press Association Sport looks at some of the key numbers associated with the Calcutta Cup.

123 - Number of times the Calcutta Cup has been played for since 1879, England winning 69, Scotland 39 and 14 draws.

1983 - Last time Scotland beat England at Twickenham, a 22-12 triumph, 17 matches ago.

270 - Number of Indian Rupees melted down by the Calcutta Football Club, a rugby union club, to create the trophy.

3 - Number of king cobras which form the cup's handles.

18 - Height of the trophy in inches.

11 - Number of games which have not been a contest for the Calcutta Cup - the eight prior to 1879; the World Cup semi-final in 1991 and the 2011 World Cup pool game (both won by England) and the 1971 Centenary match (won by Scotland).

43 - England's highest points total in the match (2001 and 2005).

33 - Scotland's highest points total in the match (1986).

9 - Longest Cup-winning streak, set by England between 1991 and 1999.

6 - Number of months Scotland flanker John Jeffrey was banned for by the SRU for his part in an incident in 1988 which saw the Cup damaged in Edinburgh.

1 - Number of matches Dean Richards was banned for due to his part in the same incident.

27 - Record individual points tally in the game, set by Jonny Wilkinson in 2007.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph