Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home Sport Rugby

Twitter reaction to Sam Burgess leaving Bath

Published 05/11/2015

Sam Burgess was fast-tracked into the England set-up
Sam Burgess was fast-tracked into the England set-up

Sam Burgess is expected to leave Bath and rugby union to return to rugby league with South Sydney Rabbitohs, sending shock waves through both codes.

Burgess was fast-tracked into the England set-up but failed to shine in the home World Cup and now appears to have turned his back on the 15-man code.

H ere are some of the reactions of people within the game or close to it on Twitter:

"So @SamBurgess8 has left Rugby Union. A sad end to a chapter that the England coaches handled so badly" - Former England captain Will Carling ( @willcarling).

"Is Sam Burgess available for Saturday lol" - Former Wigan, Great Britain and England international winger Martin Offiah ( @martinoffiah).

"If it's true about @SamBurgess8 then it's a sad day for the rugby world and a great one for @SSFCRABBITOHS" - New Zealand dual code international Sonny Bill Williams ( @SonnyBWilliams).

"Am I hearing @SamBurgess8 has left Bath? If so rugby union has let the lad down.." - Former England centre Will Greenwood (@WillGreenwood).

"If @SamBurgess8 has gone back to league then it's fair to say @EnglandRugby should hold their hand up. What a waste, what a mess" - London Welsh and former England fly-half Olly Barkley (@ollybarkley).

"The Burgess story is a lesson in one thing - world cups are not the place to try out untested talent. RU fans did not want him to fail; too many wanted him to succeed too early & poor selection. Good luck to a great player. " - Former England hooker Brian Moore ( @brianmoore666).

"All the Best mate, you are going back to your strength and where you are respected @SamBurgess8" - Former dual code Welsh Rugby international & British Lion John Devereux ( @DevereuxJohn13).

"Sam Burgess gone with immediate effect... Could've been a top player with TIME - just needed TIME!" - Former Harlequins, England & British & Irish Lions player Ugo Monye (@ugomonye).

"Shame to see @SamBurgess8 leave Union. Had the potential to be a great player. #whathappened" - Harlequins scrum-half Karl Dickson ( @kdickson9).

"Sorry end to an all-too-short stay. Picked way too early by Eng. We'll never know how good SB could be. Surprised he's choosing to walk" - Radio 5 commentator Alastair Eykyn (@alastaireykyn).

"If true then so sorry 2 c @SamBurgess8 go. Nothing but respect 4 you mate and what you do. Will be following your journey- inspired as ever" - England World Cup winner Jonny Wilkinson (@jonnywilkinson).

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph