Sunday 29 May 2016

Belfast Telegraph

Widget page

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Seven changes for Ulster ahead of Glasgow game

Published 12/09/2013

Darren Cave is back in action for Ulster
Darren Cave is back in action for Ulster

Ulster Head Coach, Mark Anscombe, has made seven personnel and two positional changes to the team that lost to Newport Gwent Dragons last week for tomorrow evening’s RaboDirect PRO12 game against Glasgow Warriors at Ravenhill (kick off 19:05).

One of the changes was forced as Ireland winger Andrew Trimble was unavailable for selection having suffered a finger injury. He will have surgery tomorrow morning and is expected to be out for between four and six weeks.

David McIlwaine starts on the right wing in place of Trimble, while Darren Cave returns to the backline at outside centre, with Luke Marshall moving inside to 12. Michael Allen is selected on the left wing, with Ian Porter picked at scrumhalf in place of Paul Marshall who is named on the bench.

Declan Fitzpatrick is selected at tighthead, while in the backrow Roger Wilson moves from Number 8 to blindside, Sean Doyle is named at openside with Nick Williams starting at Number 8.

Iain Henderson is named among the substitutes and will make his first appearance for Ulster this season if he comes on.

Looking ahead to the game, Ulster Head Coach, Mark Anscombe said: A good squad is one that can respond to poor performances and bounce back. What we have to do is to right the wrongs and get our accuracy a bit better than it was last week. If we can get that right then we can get a reasonable performance.”

A limited number of tickets for the game are still available and can be purchased via

The game will be shown live on BBC 2 Northern Ireland and on the BBC Sport website.

Ulster XV and replacements to face Glasgow Warriors, RaboDirect PRO12, Ravenhill Stadium, Friday 13th September (kick off 19:05); (15-9): J Payne, D McIlwaine, D Cave, L Marshall, M Allen, P Jackson, I Porter; (1-8): C Black, R Herring, D Fitzpatrick, J Muller (Captain), D Tuohy, R Wilson, S Doyle, N Williams; Replacements (16-23): N Annett, T Court, R Lutton, I Henderson, C Henry, P Marshall, J McKinney, R Andrew.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

Widget page
Widget page

From Belfast Telegraph