Widget page

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster Rugby: Rory Best and Johann Muller back in squad to face Montpellier at Ravenhill

Published 09/01/2014

Ulster's Rory Best at training ahead of Friday night's clash with Montpellier. Pic Darren Kidd
Ulster's Rory Best at training ahead of Friday night's clash with Montpellier. Pic Darren Kidd
Ulster's Rory Best at training ahead of Friday night's clash with Montpellier. Pic Darren Kidd
Rory Best

Rory Best and Johann Muller have beaten injury to rejoin the Ulster Rugby squad ahead of tomorrow's Heineken Cup clash against Montpellier at Ravenhill.

Best suffered a broken arm playing for Ireland in the narrow defeat to the All Blacks seven weeks ago.

He has returned to play ahead of schedule and is selected in the front row alongside John Afoa and Tom Court.

Best said while he knew it would be a "tight ask to get back for these games", his recovery was "testament to the medical team that we have".

"Michael Eames the surgeon and the strength and conditioning coaches at Ulster that I am back," he said.

"I have been fortunate that there have been no set-backs along the way and it has just been a case of trying to push on and thankfully I have come through.”

Johann Muller - who captains the side - missed last week’s game against Munster with a calf strain and returns to the second row where he partners Dan Tuohy.

Nick Williams and Chris Henry start in the back row, with Robbie Diack continuing at blindside.

The same backline that started against Munster is selected to face Montpellier, with Ruan Pienaar at scrumhalf, Paddy Jackson at outhalf, Luke Marshall and Darren Cave in midfield, and Craig Gilroy, Andrew Trimble and Jared Payne in the back three.

The match will be particularly significant for Andrew Trimble. He will play his 58th game in the Heineken Cup, setting a new Ulster appearance record in the competition.

Ulster XV and replacements to face Montpellier, Heineken Cup, Ravenhill, Friday 10th January (kick off 20:00): J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, C Gilroy, P Jackson, R Pienaar; (1-8): T Court, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller (Captain), D Tuohy, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams; Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, D Fitzpatrick, I Henderson, R Wilson, S Doyle, P Marshall, M Allen.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting? customercare@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

Read More

Widget page
Widget page

From Belfast Telegraph