Wednesday 25 May 2016

Belfast Telegraph

Widget page

Home Sport Rugby Ulster

Ulster Rugby team: Johann Muller, Jared Payne and Ruan Pienaar return

Published 06/12/2013

Ulster's Ruan Pienaar
Ulster's Ruan Pienaar

Johann Muller, Jared Payne and Ruan Pienaar have been named in the Ulster starting XV to face Benetton Treviso at Ravenhill tomorrow (kick off 18:00).

Muller and Payne return having recovered from injury, while Pienaar is included after being rested for the match against Zebre in Italy last week.


The only other change to the team that started last weekend sees Sean Doyle preferred at openside, with Mike McComish moving to the bench.


Payne starts at fullback alongside Andrew Trimble and Craig Gilroy in the back three.


Darren Cave and Luke Marshall continue in midfield with Pienaar partnering Paddy Jackson in the halfbacks.


The game will be particularly significant for Jackson who makes his 50th appearance for Ulster.


The front row is unchanged from the Zebre game with Tom Court starting at loosehead, Rob Herring continuing at hooker and John Afoa selected at tighthead.


Captain, Johann Muller, returns in the second row alongside Dan Tuohy, with Sean Doyle, Roger Wilson and Robbie Diack making up the backrow.


Ulster are top of Pool 5 having beaten Leicester Tigers and Montpellier.


The game is live on Sky Sports 2 interactive (red button) and on BBC Radio Ulster medium-wave.


Ulster XV and replacements to face Benetton Treviso, Heineken Cup, Ravenhill, Saturday 6th December (kick off 18:00); J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, L Marshall, C Gilroy, P Jackson, R Pienaar; (1-8): T Court, R Herring, J Afoa, J Muller (Captain), D Tuohy, R Diack, S Doyle, R Wilson; Replacements (16-23): N Annett, C Black, D Fitzpatrick, N McComb, M McComish, P Marshall, M Allen, D McIlwaine.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

Widget page
Widget page

From Belfast Telegraph