Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards: Who will join Hall of Fame?

By Steven Beacom

George Best, Dr Jack Kyle, Dame Mary Peters, Pat Jennings, Barry McGuigan, Tony McCoy, Mike Gibson, Gerry Armstrong... the list goes on and on... all outstanding sporting heroes who have entered our Hall of Fame at the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards.

The most recent recipient of the prestigious honour was Tyrone GAA legend Mickey Harte, who has inspired his county to THREE All-Ireland titles and is still in charge of the team hoping to add to that tally.

At the 2013 Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards ceremony, Mickey was delighted to receive his trophy from former Northern Ireland skipper and current Republic of Ireland manager Martin O'Neill, who he has admired for many years.

O'Neill in turn was overjoyed to be in Belfast to do the honours for a manager he has great respect for.

There's always something special about seeing sporting greats together on the same stage, such as when Jack Kyle, who sadly passed away last month, presented fellow Ulster and Irish rugby icon Mike Gibson with his Hall of Fame prize a few years ago.

On January 26, 2015 the awards to recognise and celebrate the glorious Northern Ireland sporting feats of 2014 will take place in the Ramada Plaza Hotel and again another one of our heroes will be inducted into the Hall of Fame and take his or her place among the greats.

It is always one of the highlights of a glittering evening.

Belleek will once again supply specially created trophies for the Hall of Fame category and all of the winners of our other categories.

Marking our 20th year, the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards gala evening will also feature a special one-off trophy created by Belleek Living for Northern Ireland's greatest ever sports star. The public have been voting in their thousands and naming their all-time favourite from our shortlist of 20 which can be found at

If you haven't already voted, please do so before the closing date which is January 1, 2015.

John Maguire, Managing Director of Belleek Group, said: "The Belleek Group are absolutely delighted to be involved once again in this prestigious and worthwhile event, honouring Northern Ireland's sporting excellence, especially in its 20th year.

"Twenty years marks a China anniversary which is fitting as we will proudly provide special Belleek Living Parian China trophies to be presented at the event.

"It was an honour for Belleek to present Mickey Harte with his Award last year and I look forward to welcoming another Northern Ireland sporting great into the Belfast Telegraph Hall of Fame this year."

The public can buy tickets and celebrate the Belfast Telegraph Sports Awards 20th anniversary and mix with our top sporting stars!

The black tie event includes a pre-dinner drinks reception, four course meal, wine on the table and a Sports Awards goody bag to take home.

Tickets cost £60 plus VAT (£72). Contact Sarah or Rosemary at JPR Tel 028 9076 0066 or

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph