Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Paddy Patterson Award winner: Ken Nixon

Published 18/01/2013

Ken Nixon honoured by NI Sports Forum chair Roy Millar
Ken Nixon honoured by NI Sports Forum chair Roy Millar
Ballyclare High School
Cheryl Mulholland and swimmer Bethany Firth
Paddy Barnes, Michael Conlon, Stephen Martin, Jenny Campbell, Jimmy Kirkwood, Rebekah Chambers and Gillian Chambers.
Mairead McCotter and Liam Watson from Loughgiel Shamrocks
Craig Peacock, Mark Brooks , Gemma Bell and Matt Towe
Laura McBurney and Michael McKillop
Brian Henning, Chairman, Sport Northern Ireland, Sycerika McMahon and Pat Jennings
Michael ONeill and Pat Jennings
Player of the Year - Ryan Farquhar. Ryan Farquhar receives his award from Wendy Houvenaghel
Gary McClintock, Wayne McBrien, Joe Robinson and William McClintock from Donnemanna Cricket Club
Michael O'Neill and Jim Shaw
Players from St Oliver Plunketts
Gerry Armstrong with his family at the awards
Gerry Armstrong with his wife Debby
Tommy Bowe, Johann Muller and Paddy McAllister
Paddy Barnes and Mari Burns
Craig Gilroy and Mark Anscombe
Darren Brown, Paddy Barnes and Tom Cunningham
Johnny Campbell, Liam Watson, Barney McAuley and Neil McGarry from Loughgiel Shamrocks
Gillian Hetherington, Jim Gracey, Ruth Gorman and Ailish Rutherford
Trevor Ringland, Jane Wells and Keith Crossan
Allan Ewart, Wendy Houvenaghel and James Tinsley
Bethany Firth
Gerry Armstrong
Janice McGeagh, Sarah Weir, Ruth Gorman and Wendy Houvenaghel
Anca Bejenaru and Claudia Ionescu
Newenham de Cogan, Hazel Busby and Leslie Busby
Brendan Gallagher, Rosaleen Gallagher, Catherine Maguire and John Maguire
John Palmer, Yvonne Craig, Margaret Tollerton and Ivan Davis from Lisburn City Council
Steve Beacom, Pat Murray and Declan Bogue
Joanne Armstrong, Gerry Armstrong Snr and Rosaleen Murray.
Mark Brown and Yvonne McKernan
Steve Beacom and Richard McCormick
James Tinsley, Pamela Ballantine, Margaret Tollerton, Ivan Davis, Yvonne Craig and Allan Ewart
Brian Henning, Chairman, Sport Northern Ireland
Local Heroes Award: Fiona Haldane. Fiona Haldane receives her award from Nick Harkness, Sport Northern Ireland
Sports Person with a Disability: Jason Smyth and Michael McKillop. Jason Smyth's grandfather, Robert Smyth, left, and Michael McKillop receives their award from John Spottiswoode, MD Disability Needs Ltd
Team of the Year: Ulster Rugby.
Team of the Year: Ulster Rugby Ulster Coach Mark Anscombe and Captain Johann Muller receives their award from Michael Gibson
Young Team of the Year: St Oliver Plunkett FC U16. Coach Stephen Lynch, Captain Josh Lynch and other team members from St Oliver Plunkett FC U16 receives their award from Alistair Gillespie, Linwoods
Hall of Fame  - Gerry Armstrong. Gerry Armstrong receives his award from Pat Jennings, Billy Hamilton and John Maguire, Group Managing Director of Belleek
Sports Star of the Year - Rory McIlroy. Eddie Harper receives the award on behalf of Rory McIlroy from Mike Gilson (Editor Belfast Telegraph) Brian Henning, Chairman of Sport NI and David Lawlor of Linwoods.
Manager/Coach of the Year: Coach P J O' Mullan from Loughgiel receives his award from Phil Simmons
George Best Breakthrough Award - Michael Conlon. Michael Conlon receives his award from Michael ONeill
Paddy McAallister, David Lawlor and Tommy Bowe
Michael Conlon, Steven Murphy from Tesco and Paddy Barnes
Neil Brittain, Pamela Ballantine, Claire McCollum and Steven Johnston
Bethany Firth and Andrew Bree
Tiffany Brien
Alastair Gillespie, Claire, David McMahon
Mark Beattie, Donna McGuinness, Ruth McQuillan and Andrew Bree from Swim Ulster
Rory Winters, Mark Gribben and James Harrison from Methody
Lauren Curley, Jessica West and Tori Wallace from Ballyclare High School.
Jackie Fullerton and Claire McCollum
Sycerika McMahon and mum Mary McMahon
lMike Gilson
Janice McGeagh, Wendy Houvenaghel and Todd Kelman

Ken Nixon is the recipient of the latest Paddy Patterson award which recognises individuals who have brought honour to the province and served Ulster sport with great distinction over a period of years.

This award is made by the Northern Ireland Sports Forum and as a recent chairman of that organisation, Ken has been used to presenting this particular prize. Now he has received it himself in acknowledgement of his excellent service to sport in Northern Ireland.

Ken’s first formal volunteering role in sport was as an officer of QUB Badminton Club and there followed over 40 years of dedicated voluntary commitment that spans a range of sports and levels from grass roots to national governing bodies.

He kept his commitment to badminton and has served as the Ulster Branch president and chairman. He currently holds the office of chairman.

His strong leadership of the sport led to badminton producing a unique double, hosting a pre-Olympic training camp and a major International Olympic qualifying tournament in 2011.

At Badminton Ireland he has been a long-term provincial representative and is a current board member and a former secretary of Badminton Ireland. He is also a trustee of the National Badminton Centre.

It is not only in the sport of badminton that Ken has made an impact through his volunteering efforts; he is a Trustee of the Mary Peters Trust and has recently been appointed to the Board of the Northern Ireland Commonwealth Games Council.

As chairman of Holywood Cricket Club he has taken his wealth of experience in the sports sector into the overall challenge of promoting the crucial role of Governing Bodies, their clubs and their vital volunteer base in the delivery of the Sport and Physical Activity Agenda in the province.

Ken stepped down as chairman of the Northern Ireland Sports Forum (the representative body for Governing Bodies of Sport) last year after 10 years at the helm.

During this time he took on a variety of roles, representing the voluntary sector of sport on the Confederation of British Sport group, serving as its vice chairman and chairman over a four-year period, working with representatives from sister bodies in England, Scotland and Wales.

The partnership has now extended to government departments and Agencies as a member of the Sport Matters, Strategy for Sport, Monitoring Group, chaired by the DCAL Minister.

As a lawyer, with a keen interest in sport and the law he has provided pro bono advice to governing bodies and clubs over a number of years.

One notable achievement in this area was as a founding director of Sports Resolutions UK, the leading charitable organisation specialising in sports mediation and arbitration.

From 1976 to 2006 he also found time to be an occasional sports writer for the Belfast Telegraph and broadcaster for BBC Radio Ulster promoting grassroots sport.

Ken is hugely respected in the administration of local sport, always available for advice, with a great depth of knowledge and wisdom. He is a worthy recipient of the Paddy Patterson Award.

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More


From Belfast Telegraph