Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport

Title glory for Passage

Passage won their first Waterford SHC title in dramatic fashion at Walsh Park, as two late goals helped them to a 3-16 to 3-13 win over Ballygunner.

Sean Hogan and Conor Carey hit the net late on to seal a glorious win, just when their opponents looked set to seal the result.

Goals from Stephen Power, Pauric Mahony and JJ Hutchinson had Ballygunner in control, with an Owen Connors goal keeping Passage in contention, before they stunned their opponents with a late 2-4 blitz.

All-Ireland SHC champions St Thomas' were dethroned in a 0-18 to 2-11 defeat to Portumna in a Galway semi-final replay, with Joe Canning hitting 10 points for the winners.

Moorefield won the Kildare SFC title with a 2-14 to 0-13 win over holders Sarsfields at Newbridge.

Goals from Patrick Murray and full back Ger Naughton sealed it for the challengers, along with a five points haul from Ronan Sweeney.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph