Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Gmail adds new 'block' and 'unsubscribe' features, making it far easier to get rid of annoying people from your email

Published 23/09/2015

Google has added a new “Block” button to Gmail on the web and on Android
Google has added a new “Block” button to Gmail on the web and on Android

Gmail has added an easy way to stop talking to annoying people, adding a new option to block people with just the press of a button.

Google has added a new “Block” button to Gmail on the web and on Android that works as a way of telling the site that you want to “Never see messages from this person again”, according to Google.

Any future emails from them will then be sent straight to the junk folder, unless they are allowed back again through the settings folder.

Google has also added the unsubscribe button to the Android version of Gmail.

That feature, which has long been offered on the web, lets people get rid of newsletters and other subscriptions that people don’t read any more, or might never have intentionally signed up to.

Both options can be found in the same dropdown menu that is used to select the “Reply” or “Forward” buttons. The web updates are already available and the Android ones will be rolled out over the next week.

Independent

Independent News Service

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting? customercare@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

Read More