Belfast Telegraph

Benazir Bhutto named Tipperary Peace Prize winner

Assassinated Pakistani politician Benazir Bhutto is to posthumously receive the 2007 Tipperary Peace Prize.

Ms Bhutto, who was killed on December 27 after addressing a rally in Rawalpindi, is being honoured for her work on democracy and reconciliation in her country.

The Tipperary Peace Convention has announced the award will be presented to a member of the politician's family in Co Tipperary in April.

'Ms Bhutto was an incredibly brave and courageous woman who had returned from exile to her homeland to lead her party in the forthcoming elections' according to spokesperson Martin Quinn.

The Convention committee chose Ms Bhutto after considering nominations received from members of the public.

The shortlist included Hollywood actor George Clooney for his work on Darfur, Northern Ireland First Minister Rev Ian Paisley, former Nobel Prize winner Shirin Ibadi and Indian spiritual teacher Sri Sri Ravi Shankar.

The Tipperary Peace Award was founded in 1984 to recognise people who promote peace in Ireland and abroad.

Previous winners include former South African President Nelson Mandela, former

Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev, Bob Geldof, Bill Clinton and assassinated

Lebanese premier Rafic Hariri.


From Belfast Telegraph