Belfast Telegraph

Cyprus and Malta adopt euro currency

Two more countries have adopted the Euro as their currency from today.

The Cypriot pound and the Maltese Lira have been swapped for the Euro, bringing to 15 the number of countries using the currency.

However, the Turkish Lira will remain the primary currency in northern Cyprus, as it lies outside the EU.

The Euro has also become legal tender on British army bases in Cyprus, making them the first parts of British territory to adopt the currency.


From Belfast Telegraph