Historic Belfast Frames complex sold
Business as usual after deal done with pub owner
One of Belfast's oldest and iconic pub and snooker complexes has been sold.
The Frames Complex on Little Donegall Street, which was originally constructed in 1886, sits opposite the former Belfast Telegraph headquarters.
The building is currently home to a bar and function room, a pool/snooker room, a sunbed suite, a nail salon, gym and barbers.
It is owned by brothers Gerard Magee and James Magee of Gracemount Enterprises.
It has now been acquired by businessman Paul Langsford.
He is also the director of a host of city bars including Filthy McNasty's, The Albany and El Divino.
Mr Langsford said: “A planning application is being prepared for a proposed mixed use commercial and leisure scheme with a ground floor and roof top bar.”
A spokesman for Gracemount Enterprises told the Belfast Telegraph that a deal had been agreed.
But that it would be "business as usual" until the end of April start of May 2017.
It has been reported that the five-storey building is earmarked to become a hotel.
Earlier this month plans were resubmitted to refurbish the building and turn it into a mixed-use development. It previously had permission for a redevelopment.
The proposal includes 18 two-bedroom apartments, retail and commercial office space.
In August further plans for the Belfast Streets Ahead scheme were unveiled - based in and around the Frames complex area.
The Frames Complex building was originally constructed in 1986 and was for many years the manufacturing warehouse and showroom for Robert Watson & Co. who traded on the site through two world wars.
It lay derelict until 1983 when it was opened as a snooker club. It began with ten tables but within two years grew to almost 50 and was thought to be one of the largest in the UK.