Belfast Telegraph

In Pictures: Janus Hospitality Awards 2012

The Institute of Hospitality Northern Ireland Branch hosted their annual glittering celebration of the hotel and catering industry.

The 17th Annual Janus Awards for Professionalism took place on Friday 11 May at Titanic Belfast, the exciting new visitor attraction that showcases Northern Ireland’s rich maritime heritage.

Exclusive to Northern Ireland, the Janus Awards were established in 1995. They identify and reward individuals and companies exemplifying excellence, making an outstanding contribution to the industry at home and enhancing its reputation abroad.

Sinead Scott MIH, chairman of the Institute of Hospitality Northern Ireland Branch, said: “The Janus Awards are now held in such high esteem that we had 130 nominations this year. Each nominee can be justly proud to have been chosen and worthy of recognition as an outstanding colleague and employee. 2012 is a significant year for Belfast and represents a year of personal achievement for all of our finalists who have risen to the top of their category.”

Speaking to the 438 guests Sinead applauded all of them, and everyone in the industry striving in the face of great adversity to maintain standards, sustain growth and advance the reputation of Northern Ireland’s hospitality and tourism industries. “Together we have set Northern Ireland on the global map as a tourist destination and a significant event venue of choice,” she said.

Mr. Mervyn Elder MBE, formerly of Belfast City Council, won the Special Award of the Year for his outstanding contribution to the Industry; “The success of his incredible initiatives brought events like The Tall Ships and the World Games for Police and Firemen as well as the MTV awards to Belfast and the benefits they bestowed on this city carried a new reputation of this Province far beyond these shores,” said TV star Paul Clarke presenting the trophy.

The Institute of Hospitality Northern Ireland Branch is always indebted to their loyal sponsors, many of whom have been past winners, and without whom this illustrious event would not be possible.

The Janus Awards sponsors 2012 were: Stephens Catering, Navarino Services, Diversey, People 1st & DEL, Lilliput Services, Podiem, Coca Cola, Bailey Waste Recycling (NI), Mood Event Decoration, Get Fresh, Henderson Group, Crossgar Foodservice and Hospitality Review.

Category Winner's Name Winner's Organisation

Outstanding Contribution Award Mervyn Elder

Caterer of the Year Caitriona Lennox The Mount Charles Group

Hotelier of the Year - Large Business Ben Clayton Premier Inn

Publican of the Year Kelvin Collins Molly Brown's Kitchen & Bar

Student Management Potential Lauren Aston SERC Bangor

Supplier of the Year Warren Patton Pattons Bakery

Restaurateur of the Year Sean Owens Gardiners Restaurant

Housekeeper of the Year Lauren Hodson Hastings Culloden Estate & Spa

Business Development Manager of the Year Nichola Boorman Barnabys Restaurant

Hotelier of the Year - Small Business Alan Dunlop Bushmills Inn

Food & Beverage Manager of the Year Paul Quinn La Mon Hotel & Country Club

Restaurant Chef of the Year John Paul Leake The Great Room Restaurant

Hotel Chef of the Year Dean Butler Malone Lodge Hotel & Apartments

Front Office Manager of the Year Damian Gilvary Hilton Belfast

Belfast Telegraph