Belfast Telegraph

Record number of Northern Ireland business bosses are shortlisted for the Entrepreneur of Year awards

By Staff Reporter

A record number of top business leaders from Northern Ireland have been shortlisted for this year’s EY Entrepreneur of the Year awards.

A total of seven company bosses are vying to take the top award, based throughout various different sectors and industries.

They include Brendan Mooney, boss of Belfast tech firm Kainos, which is now listed on the London Stock Exchange.

Dr Suresh Tharma and Ashok Songra from medical business 3fivetwo group have also been shortlisted.

Previous all-Ireland winners from the province include Brian Conlon of First Derivatives and Dr Peter FitzGerald of Randox.

Rob Heron, tax partner of the Entrepreneur of the Year programme, said: “The Northern Ireland finalists represent a diverse range of sectors, including digital technology, healthcare, distribution, utilities and farming.”

Pictured at the launch of the awards are Ian Murphy of Invest NI, Anne Heraty, chief executive of Cpl and chair of the Entrepreneur of the Year judging panel, Sean Duffy, programme director, Julie Sinnamon, chief executive of Enterprise Ireland and Kevin McLoughlin, partner lead of the Entrepreneur of the Year programme.

Belfast Telegraph Digital