Belfast Telegraph

British Soap Awards in pictures: Coronation Street dominates

Coronation Street dominated the British Soap Awards, scooping eight out of 16 awards including Best Soap.

Meanwhile, EastEnders left the ceremony in Manchester almost empty handed, with just a Lifetime Achievement award for Adam Woodyatt, who has played Ian Beale since the soap began.

ITV soap Corrie proved a hit with fans taking home three out of five of the public-voted awards.

Alan Halsall accepted his Best Actor award just after the ceremony had paid tribute to Bill Tarmey, Corrie's Jack Duckworth, who died last November aged 71.

Alan said: "Fancy bringing me up here after he's (Tarmey) been on the screen. I owe a lot to that man, he means a lot to me.

"I firmly believe that you're only as good as the people around you and so thank you to everybody who works at Coronation Street and every cast member. I'd also like to thank my beautiful wife Lucy-Jo Hudson and also our special guest, our baby bump. Can't wait to meet ya!"

Malcolm Hebden who plays comedy character Norris Cole accepted the Best Soap award on behalf of Coronation Street, flanked by all his co-stars.

He said: "I'm not really sure why I've been chosen to accept this award. I was hoping for Sexiest Male but you take what you can get."

Corrie beauty Michelle Keegan was voted Sexiest Female for the fifth time in a row.

The actress, who has just announced she will leave the soap next year, laughed: "I can't believe it. This is ridiculous. I'm going to get this out in 50 years and be the coolest gran ever!"

The winners

Sexiest Male - Danny Mac, Dodger Savage, Hollyoaks

Sexiest Female - Michelle Keegan, Tina McIntyre, Coronation Street

Villain of the Year - Natalie Gumede, Kirsty Soames, Coronation Street

Best Actor - Alan Halsall, Tyrone Dobbs, Coronation Street

Best Actress - Claire Cooper, Jacqui McQueen, Hollyoaks

Best British Soap - Coronation Street

Best Comedy Performance - Patti Clare, Mary Taylor, Coronation Street

Best Dramatic Performance - Natalie Gumede, Kirsty Soames, Coronation Street

Best Young Performance - Eden Taylor-Draper, Belle Dingle, Emmerdale

Best Exit - Nigel Havers, Lewis Archer, Coronation Street

Best Newcomer - Joseph Thompson, Dr Paul Browning, Hollyoaks

Best On-Screen Partnership - Kieron Richardson and Emmett J Scanlan, Ste Hay and Brendan Brady, Hollyoaks

Best Storyline - Kirsty's Abuse of Tyrone, Coronation Street

Spectacular Scene of the Year - The Bus Crash, Hollyoaks

Best Single Episode - Emmerdale 40th anniversary live episode

Lifetime Achievement Award - Adam Woodyatt, Ian Beale, EastEnders


From Belfast Telegraph