Belfast Telegraph

Coppola selected for Cannes jury

American director Sofia Coppola and China's Jia Zhangke have been selected among the nine members of the Cannes film festival jury.

The Riviera festival's organisers announced four men and four women who will select the honourees at the May 14-25 event alongside this year's president, New Zealand director Jane Campion.

Jia's A Touch Of Sin won Cannes' best screenplay prize in 2013, while Coppola won a best screenplay Oscar for Lost In Translation in 2003.

Rounding out the jury are actress Carole Bouquet of France, American actor Willem Dafoe, actresses Leila Hatami of Iran and Jeon Do-yeon of South Korea, actor-director Gael Garcia Bernal of Mexico and Danish director Nicolas Winding Refn.

Eighteen films are vying for the top prize of the Palme d'Or.


From Belfast Telegraph