Belfast Telegraph

Dame Helen Mirren and Emily Blunt among Oscar presenters

They will be joined by Ashley Judd and Lupita Nyong’o.

Dame Helen Mirren, Emily Blunt, Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman will be among the presenters at the Oscars on Sunday, it has been announced.

Others stars due to take to the stage to present include Dave Chappelle, Eugenio Derbez, Ansel Elgort, Jane Fonda, Jodie Foster, Eiza Gonzalez, Ashley Judd, Matthew McConaughey, Rita Moreno, Lupita Nyong’o and Christopher Walken.

The new list of names was announced by Oscars producers Michael De Luca and Jennifer Todd, who said: “These actors have embodied some of the most heroic, aspirational and indelible characters ever brought to the screen.

BAFTA Film Awards 2017 – Arrivals – London

“In so doing, they’ve not only entertained the world, but illuminated the full range of the human experience.”

Judd and Nyong’o are among the high-profile actresses who have accused disgraced movie mogul Harvey Weinstein of sexual harassment.

Host Jimmy Kimmel is likely to address the scandal when he opens the ceremony at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles.

Other presenters already announced for the ceremony include Wonder Woman star Gal Gadot and Mark Hamill, as well as last year’s winners Mahershala Ali, Emma Stone and Viola Davis.

It is customary for the previous winners to present to the new winner at the subsequent ceremony.

However, the last winner of the best actor award, Casey Affleck, will not be attending the ceremony this year.

The 89th Academy Awards – Press Room – Los Angeles

The Manchester By The Sea star would have been expected to present the best actress award, according to the show’s tradition, but in January he withdrew from the hosting role.

In 2010 Affleck was sued by two women for alleged sexual harassment before the lawsuits were settled out of court.

He has vehemently denied the sexual harassment claims which were alleged to have happened during the making of the film I’m Still Here.

The nominations for the Oscars are led by Guillermo Del Toro’s The Shape Of Water, which has 13 nods, while Dunkirk, directed by Christopher Nolan, has eight.

Press Association


From Belfast Telegraph