Belfast Telegraph

Gambon honoured with lifetime award

Sir Michael Gambon has been honoured for a lifetime of dramatic endeavour at the annual London Evening Standard Theatre Awards.

Having recently won rave reviews for his performance in Beckett's Krapp's Last Tape, the 70-year-old thespian took home the Lebedev Special Award for a lifetime contribution to British theatre.

Elsewhere, After The Dance's Nancy Carroll walked away with the best actress gong, while Rory Kinear won the male category for his role in MeasureFfor Measure.

The 56th London Evening Standards Awards also recognised the contribution of Sir Peter Hall. The Golden Seagull award was handed to founder of the Royal Shakespeare Company for his lifelong work in world theatre.

Youth as well as experience was rewarded during theatre's big night.

Anya Reiss, who was just 17 when she wrote Spur of the Moment, won the Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright.

Best Play went to Clybourne Park at the Royal Court. A study of racial prejudice in America, the play by Bruce Norris received praise for its rich characters and black humour. Having started life at the Royal Court, Clybourne Park will soon transfer to Wyndham's Theatre.

Stephen Sondheim's Passion took the title for Best Musical. Staged to mark the composer and lyricist's 80th birthday, the revival beat off competition from Legally Blonde and Les Miserables.

The Best Director award went to Howard Davies for two projects, a new interpretation of Mikhail Bulgakov's The White Guard, at the National, and Arthur Miller's All My Sons, at the Apollo.

Sarah Sands, deputy editor of the London Evening Standard said: "This year's winners illustrate the astonishing range of talent drawn to the stage. London theatre is, by far, the best in the world, and the Evening Standard is proud of its deep associations with it."


From Belfast Telegraph