Belfast Telegraph

Jude Law and Gambon to be honoured

Jude Law and Sir Michael Gambon will be honoured at this year's Moet British Independent Film Awards, it has been announced.

Screen veteran Sir Michael will receive the Richard Harris Award, which recognises an actor's outstanding contribution to British film.

The award was set up in 2002 in honour of the late Irish actor.

Sir Michael stepped into his role as Hogwarts headmaster Dumbledore in the Harry Potter films after Richard died in 2002.

Jude Law will pick up the Variety Award which recognises an actor, director, writer or producer who has helped to focus the international spotlight on the UK.

Previous recipients have included Kenneth Branagh, Liam Neeson, Sir Michael Caine, Daniel Craig, Dame Helen Mirren and Richard Curtis.

Previous winners of the Richard Harris award have included John Hurt, David Thewlis, Bob Hoskins, Jim Broadbent, Daniel Day-Lewis, Helena Bonham Carter and most recently Ralph Fiennes.

The stars will receive their awards at a ceremony in London on December 9.


From Belfast Telegraph