Belfast Telegraph

Michael Fassbender is one step closer to Oscar glory


Irish actor Michael Fassbender has been nominated for Best Supporting Actor at the Independent Spirit Awards, a precursor to the Oscars.

The Killarney native, whose mother hails from Larne, took on one of his most challenging roles to date in 12 Years a Slave, in which he plays a ruthless slave owner.

Having been snubbed by the Academy for roles in Shame in 2011, it's believed that it will finally be his year for a gold statue.

Not to mention that his latest film has swept the nominations at this year's Spirit Awards.

Single Fassbender has earned critical acclaim for his role in 12 Years a Slave, but previously revealed he will not be 'campaigning' for an Oscar this year after he was snubbed for a Best Actor nomination for his role in Shame last year.

Instead, he'll be filming in New Zealand and won't even attend the ceremony.

"That's just not going to happen, because I'll be in New Zealand," he explained.

"I'll be on the other side of the world.

"You know, I get it. Everybody's got to do their job.

"So you try and help and facilitate as best you can. But I won't put myself through that kind of situation again."

"It's just a grind and I'm not a politician. I'm an actor."

Director Steve McQueen praised Fassbender for his performance in the film,, which was so harrowing that Fassbender actually passed out after filming a violent rape scene.

"It’s that I love him more," McQueen told Vanity Fair. " I love him deeply. It’s an understanding. I don’t question it; that’s the funny thing. I think we both don’t question it. I think we have something and we just get on with it."

Independent Spirit Awards - Nominations in Full

Best Feature

12 Years A Slave

All Is Lost

Frances Ha

Inside Llewyn Davis



Best Director

Shane Carruth, Upstream Color

J.C. Chandor, All Is Lost

Steve McQueen, 12 Years A Slave

Jeff Nichols, Mud

Alexander Payne, Nebraska


Best Female Lead

Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Julie Delpy, Before Midnight

Gaby Hoffmann, Crystal Fairy

Brie Larson, Short Term 12

Shailene Woodley, The Spectacular Now


Best Male Lead

Bruce Dern, Nebraska

Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years A Slave

Oscar Isaac, Inside Llewyn Davis

Michael B. Jordan, Fruitvale Station

Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Robert Redford, All Is Lost


Best Screenplay

Woody Allen, Blue Jasmine

Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater, Before Midnight

Nicole Holofcener, Enough Said

Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber, The Spectacular Now

John Ridley, 12 Years A Slave


Best Supporting Female

Melonie Diaz, Fruitvale Station

Sally Hawkins, Blue Jasmine

Lupita Nyong'o, 12 Years a Slave

Yolonda Ross, Go For Sisters

June Squibb, Nebraska


Best Supporting Male

Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave

Will Forte, Nebraska

James Gandolfini, Enough Said

Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Keith Stanfield, Short Term 12


Best First Screenplay

Lake Bell, In A World

Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Don Jon

Bob Nelson, Nebraska

Jill Soloway, Afternoon Delight

Mike Starrbury, The Inevitable Defeat of Mister and Pete


Best Cinematography

Sean Bobbitt, 12 Years A Slave

Benoit Debie, Spring Breakers

Bruno Delbonnel, Inside Llewyn Davis

Frank G. Demarco, All Is Lost

Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess


Best Editing

Shane Carruth & David Lowery, Upstream Color

Jem Cohen & Marc Vives, Museum Hours

Frank G. Demarco, All Is Lost

Matthias Grunsky, Computer Chess

Nat Sanders, Short Term 12


Best Documentary

20 Feet From Stardom, Director/Producer: Morgan Neville, Producers: Gil Friesen & Caitrin Rogers

After Tiller, Directors/Producers: Martha Shane & Lana Wilson

Gideon’s Army, Director/Producer: Dawn Porter, Producer: Julie Goldman

The Act of Killing, Director/Producer: Joshua Oppenheimer, Producers: Joram Ten Brink, Christine Cynn, Anne Köhncke, Signe Byrge Sørensen, Michael Uwemedimo

The Square, Director: Jehane Noujaim, Producer: Karim Amer


Best International Film

A Touch of Sin (China)

Blue is the Warmest Color (France)

Gloria (Chile)

The Great Beauty (Italy)

The Hunt (Denmark)

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph