Belfast Telegraph

Spencer unveils Spirit Awards nods

Octavia Spencer was overcome with emotion as she announced her movie Fruitvale Station as a nominee at the Independent Spirit Awards alongside movies such as 12 Years A Slave and Nebraska.

The Oscar-winning actress was joined by 2 Gun stars Paula Patton to announce the nominees for the 2014 awards in Los Angeles, and broke down in tears as she revealed her director Ryan Coogler's nod for best first feature.

Speaking after the nominations announcement, Octavia said: "I am thrilled. This movie means a lot to me and I am so proud of everybody who worked behind the scenes and in front of the scenes."

British filmmaker Steve McQueen's movie 12 Years A Slave is the frontrunner, after receiving seven nominations.

The drama is up for best feature, best director, best actor (Chiwetel Ejiofor), best supporting actress (Lupita Nyong'o), best supporting actor (Michael Fassbender), best screenplay (John Ridley) and best cinematography (Sean Bobbitt).

With six nominations, Alexander Payne's black-and-white comedy Nebraska is also in the running for best feature, best director, best actor for Bruce Dern, best supporting actress for June Squibb, best supporting actor for Will Forte and best first screenplay for Bob Nelson.

Other best picture contenders include JC Chandor's near-wordless shipwreck drama All Is Lost, Noah Baumbach's New York tale Frances Ha and the Coen brothers' folk music story Inside Llewyn Davis.

The best male lead category also includes Oscar Isaac for Inside Llewyn Davis, Matthew McConaughey for Dallas Buyers Club, Robert Redford for All Is Lost and Michael B Jordan for Fruitvale Station.

Julie Delpy received two nominations, for best female lead and best screenplay for Before Midnight, the third instalment in the romantic drama series that kicked off with Before Sunrise in 1995. Julie shares the best screenplay nomination with Ethan Hawke and Richard Linklater, who co-wrote the script.

Among other best actress nominees are Cate Blanchett for Blue Jasmine, Gaby Hoffmann for Crystal Fairy, Brie Larson for Short Term 12 and Shailene Woodley for The Spectacular Now.

The awards ceremony will take place on the beach in Santa Monica, California on March 1, 2014.


From Belfast Telegraph