Belfast Telegraph

Stars out for GLAAD awards night

Jennifer Lawrence, Charlize Theron and Leonardo DiCaprio were among the Hollywood heavyweights taking on presenting duties at this year's GLAAD awards.

Emma Watson's movie Perks Of Being A Wallflower and TV show The New Normal were among the winners at the annual event in LA, which pays tribute to "inclusive representations of the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community and the issues that affect their lives".

The Harry Potter star's comedy drama - which features Ezra Miller as an openly gay high school student - was named Outstanding Film: Wide Release.

NBC's sitcom The New Normal, FX's thriller American Horror Story: Asylum and NBC's daytime drama Days Of Our Lives took home top TV honours at the ceremony, which was hosted by Drew Barrymore.

Many celebs shared personal stories as they arrived at the glitzy event.

Actor Justin Bartha, who plays one half of a gay couple in The New Normal, said his brother's coming out moved him both personally and professionally. "It was an inspiring moment - I'm sure for him and definitely me and my whole family," he said. "So, it was at the forefront of my mind when looking at (the role)."

Kyle XY actor Matt Dallas discussed his decision to come out publicly earlier this year, and entertainment blogger Perez Hilton detailed the challenges of being the single gay parent of a newly adopted child.

Transgendered Chaz Bono expressed hopes for the gay lesbian bisexual transgender community's future.

"I mean, I think the goal always has to be equality in all aspects under the law," he said. "You're never going to eradicate discrimination. We see that with other minorities. Racism is still, unfortunately, alive and well. But equal protection under the law makes a huge difference. So, I think, for me, that is the goal, that is the thing to strive for."

Former US President Bill Clinton won the inaugural Advocate for Change Award for his work campaigning to legalise same-sex marriage. Additional 2013 GLAAD Media Awards were presented in New York on March 16. The final awards will be presented in San Francisco on May 11.


From Belfast Telegraph