Belfast Telegraph

Tom Hiddleston and Jennifer Metcalfe voted top of the bottoms

Taylor Swift's new love interest Tom Hiddleston has been named as the male winner of Rear of the Year for 2016.

The British actor cemented his status as the champion after flashing his posterior while starring in BBC spy drama The Night Manager.

Hiddleston, 35, beat off competition from the likes of Luther star Idris Elba, tennis ace Andy Murray and Fifty Shades of Grey actor Jamie Dornan.

Hollyoaks actress Jennifer Metcalfe was named the female winner of the bottom-based accolade.

The winners were chosen from more than 10,000 votes cast by members of the public via the contest's official website between July 2015 and June 2016.

Metcalfe, who plays Mercedes McQueen on the Channel 4 soap, admitted she was "surprised" to win the title.

She also thanked her mother, Mary, for passing on her "small waist and big bum" and said she maintains her physique with regular exercise and a healthy diet.

She follows in the footsteps of other celebrities including presenter Carol Vorderman, actress Kym Marsh and newsreader Fiona Bruce who have all previously won the award.

The TV star told young girls to "not get hung up" on body image and offered advice to anyone feeling pressure over their appearance.

She told the Press Association: "Everyone goes through their own journey with their body; they need to ride it the way they want to.

"Don't spend years trying to change a certain part of your body. It will probably never change because it's just in your genetics."

She added: "Just enjoy life and as long as you feel comfortable in your own skin, that will show through."

Metcalfe fended off competition this year from Countdown presenter Rachel Riley as well as This Morning host Holly Willoughby and former Strictly Come Dancing professional Ola Jordan.

:: The Rear of the Year 2016 winners list in full:


1. Jennifer Metcalfe

2. Rachel Riley

3. Holly Willoughby

4. Ola Jordan

5. Amanda Holden


1. Tom Hiddleston

2. Jamie Dornan

3. Andy Murray

4. Idris Elba

5. Bradley Walsh


From Belfast Telegraph