Belfast Telegraph

New U2 album Songs Of Innocence offered as free download on Apple's iTunes

The highly anticipated new U2 album Songs Of Innocence is being offered as a free download to the almost half billion Apple iTunes users around the world.

U2 and Apple announced the release to coincide with a press conference about the new iPhone 6. The band performed at the event.

"If you are not an iTunes customer, sign up now and get the album," Apple CEO Tim Cook said during the announcement.

The band's latest studio album contains 11 new tracks.

Songs of Innocence is U2’s most personal work to date, charting the band’s earliest influences from 70s rock and punk rock to early 80s electronica and ambient music and giving insight into how and why the band came together.

The album deals with themes of home and family, relationships and discovery and was recorded in Dublin, London, New York and Los Angeles and is produced by Danger Mouse, along with Paul Epworth, Ryan Tedder, Declan Gaffney and Flood.

Bono said: "From the very beginning U2 have always wanted our music to reach as many people as possible, the clue is in our name I suppose — so today is kind of mind-blowing to us.

"The most personal album we've written could be shared with half a billion people… by hitting send. If only songwriting was that easy. It's exciting and humbling to think that people who don't know U2 or listen to rock music for that matter might check us out.

"Working with Apple is always a blast. They only want to do things that haven't been done before — that's a thrill to be part of."

As is a decades-old tradition, Dave Fanning got the first play of the record on his RTE's 2FM show this evening.

The album is the band's first release of new music since 2009. It is available for free until October 13 when it will be released in physical form by Island Records.

Songs of Innocence track list:

1. The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)

2. Every Breaking Wave

3. California (There Is No End to Love)

4. Song for Someone

5. Iris (Hold Me Close)

6. Volcano

7. Raised by Wolves

8. Cedarwood Road

9. Sleep Like a Baby Tonight

10. This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now

11. The Troubles

Further reading

Apple Watch clocks in beside iPhone 6 

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph