Belfast Telegraph

Northern Ireland Music Prize 2017: 12 shortlisted albums announced

Last year's recipient of the Northern Ireland Music Prize, Ciaran Lavery.
Last year's recipient of the Northern Ireland Music Prize, Ciaran Lavery.

The albums shortlisted for the 2017 Northern Ireland Music Prize have been announced.

Twelve NI musicians are now in contention for the annual prize, which will be announced at a special event at Mandela Hall, Belfast on Saturday, November 11.

The shortlist was finalised following consultation with more than 70 music industry judges, who were invited to cast their votes for the best Northern Ireland album of the last 12 months.

A second round of voting will take place before the winning album is announced.

Northern Ireland Music Prize 2017 shortlisted acts:

  • Arborist - Home Burial
  • Arvo Party - Arvo Party
  • Bap Kennedy - Reckless Heart
  • The Divine Comedy - Foreverland
  • Gross Net - Quantitative Easing
  • Hannah Peel - Awake But Always Dreaming
  • Invaderband - Invaderband
  • Joshua Burnside - Ephrata
  • Malojian - This Is Nowhere
  • Our Krypton Son - Fleas & Diamonds
  • Robocobra Quartet - Music For All Occasions
  • Sea Pinks - Watercourse

Last year's recipient of the Northern Ireland Music Prize, which is organised by the Oh Yeah music centre, was Co Antrim singer Ciaran Lavery  for his record Let Bad In.

Other previous winners include Derry singer SOAK in 2015, Robyn G Shiels in 2014, and Bangor singer Foy Vance in 2013.

Charlotte Dryden, CEO of Oh Yeah, said: “It’s been yet another great year for music from Northern Ireland.

"The shortlisted 12 are just a taste of what we have to offer, but what a strong example in this list."

The NI Music Prize will be presented alongside the Oh Yeah Legend Award - this year's recipient will be Belfast guitarist Vivian Campbell.

The Def Lepperd star will receive his award at Mandela Hall followed by a live performance with his current band Last In Line.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph