Belfast Telegraph

Smith up for clutch of Mobo Awards

Sam Smith has been nominated for a clutch of gongs at this year's Mobo Awards.

The soul singer is up for four trophies, Best Male, R&B/Soul, Album for his debut In The Lonely Hour and Song for chart-topper Stay With Me.

South London hip hop duo Krept & Konan are in the running for the same number, including Male and Album, at the ceremony which celebrates UK urban talent.

Written In The Stars rapper Tinie Tempah is up for three awards, including Best Male.

FKA Twigs, the singer-songwriter who is the new favourite to win the Mercury Prize and has been linked to Hollywood star Robert Pattinson, is also in the running in three categories.

She competes with Jessie J, Rita Ora and Katy B for Best Female and is also up for Newcomer and Video for Two Weeks.

Singer-songwriter Smith competes with Ed Sheeran ft Pharrell's track Sing for Best Song as well as Krept & Konan track Don't Waste My Time.

Beyonce, Chris Brown, Drake, Iggy Azalea, Pharrell and Nicki Minaj are among the nominees for International Act.

ITV2 will be broadcasting the ceremony, with the highlights on ITV.

The BBC ended its TV coverage of the awards after a decade as a result of cost-cutting and the launch of its own new music prize ceremony.

Some of the biggest names in music have performed at the Mobos, with Kanye West, Jay-Z and Amy Winehouse among the artists who have taken to the stage since the awards were launched.

This year's "spectacular" awards show will take place at the SSE Arena, Wembley, on October 22.

Kanya King, who founded the awards, said: "As we enter our 19th year, the Mobo Awards show promises to be bigger and more audacious than ever. This year's nominees represent an incredible crop of artists.

"I find it particularly exciting to see so many underground artists featured, who've reached new heights over the last year and broken into the wider consciousness.

"It's testament to their talent and their determination to succeed and we are very proud to witness their successes to date."

Mobo Awards nominations highlights:

:: Male

Fuse ODG


Krept & Konan

Sam Smith

Tinie Tempah

:: Female

FKA Twigs

Jessie J

Katy B

Marsha Ambrosius

Rita Ora

:: Newcomer

Ella Eyre

FKA Twigs

Jess Glynne


Little Simz


Melissa Steel

Meridian Dan


Raleigh Ritchie

:: Song

Ed Sheeran ft Pharrell (Sing)

Fuse ODG ft Sean Paul (Dangerous Love)

Krept & Konan (Don't Waste My Time)

Meridian Dan ft Big H & JME (German Whip)

Sam Smith (Stay With Me)

:: Video

FKA Twigs (Two Weeks)

Jacob Banks (Move With You)

Rudimental ft Becky Hill (Powerless)

Scorcher ft Wretch 32, Mercston & Ari (Work Get It)

Skepta ft JME (That's Not Me)

:: Album

Ghetts (Rebel With A Cause)

Katy B (Little Red)

Krept & Konan (Young Kingz)

Sam Smith (In the Lonely Hour)

Tinie Tempah (Demonstration)

:: International Act


Chris Brown


Iggy Azalea

J Cole

Jhene Aiko

Kendrick Lamar

Nicki Minaj


Trey Songz

:: R&B/Soul



Jessie Ware

Marsha Ambrosius

Sam Smith

:: Hip-Hop



Krept & Konan

Professor Green

Tinie Tempah


From Belfast Telegraph